Help us with our permaculture project in the Almanzora Valley, Spain

Country

Spanien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 38 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.02.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We're Kate & Dominic, originally from the UK we are now residents in Spain. We have both traveled extensively throughout the world and spent the last three years exploring all of Spain, some of Portugal, parts of France, northern Italy and western UK, in two classic motorhomes. During that time we were volunteers with various hosts. Previously we've individually been involved in diverse voluntary projects in places such as the Caribbean, Cambodia and Europe. Kate is a permaculturist, gardener and cryptocurrency trainer with a degree in sustainable development. Dominic has run his own handyman business, worked in the voluntary sector, taught English in Cambodia as well having lots of pointless jobs too.

    We have recently purchased a small olive grove (2,800m2) in the Almanzora valley in the Almeria province of Spain on which we have installed 2x6 metre yurts - one that we live in, the other will be for our volunteers to stay in. We hope to have the building that will house our kitchen and shower completed by the end of February 2020. Until this building is completed we will be unable to host volunteers unless they have their own vehicle due to lack of facilities.

    Our plan is to transform the olive grove into a vibrant food forest using permaculture and sustainable technology. Whilst we won't have animals here, such as chickens or dogs, we do have a couple of cats around as Kate occasionally helps out with a local TNR program and adopted 2 abandoned kittens this year.

    We hope to hear from you.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    In our travels, as volunteers, we experienced both the good and not so good in terms of what our hosts expected of us. Our aim is for you to enjoy your time with us, to learn new skills and to have time to explore the area where we live. The nearby village is typically Spanish and we are surrounded by Spanish neighbours and lemon groves. There are excellent hiking and cycling routes throughout the area and a daily bus service to and from the village. We are also happy to pick up or drop off from the nearby town of Albox, include our workawayers in our regular trips to nearby local market towns, days out at the beach and other activities.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    In terms of work/duties/relevant skills, there may be small construction projects, ground clearance, planting, olive harvesting and implementing a permaculture design plan.
    This is an opportunity for you to learn dry climate permaculture and/or deepen your permaculture skills. Our expectations are that you would work for 4 hours, 5 days a week. Meals are provided and/or we shop for you to prepare your own. For instance, previous volunteers have liked to have breakfast on their own.. We ask that you make a commitment for a minimum of 1 week.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and some Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A 6m yurt will be available as accommodation for up to 4 workawayers. The yurt will be heated and have beds and a sofa. A kitchen, shower, laundry facilities and toilet will be situated in a nearby permanent building on site when completed.

    Workawayers who have their own campervan, mobile home, caravan are also welcome to join us. We have plenty of room to provide a peaceful and safe area to park-up in the olive grove where the yurts are installed.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We're on the edge of a village, walking distance from shops, a bakery, pharmacy, bank, post office, a few bars, swimming pool (summer months) and even a small weekly market. There is a daily bus service from the village, we're only a few minutes drive from the local market town and 40 minutes from the beaches of Mojacar, Vera and Palomares.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.5)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 568277688554