Come to West Cork and help with some building and with our animals

Country

Irland

Bisher 19 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

    45
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.10.2018

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Mark & Bee's Place:

    We are sorry to say we are full for this year; many thanks to all who have gotten in touch with us.

    Our place consists of a 1.5 acre smallholding in West Cork; close to the sea, mountains, lakes and woods. The land is put to mixed use; which includes a pond, orchard, raised vegetable beds with a poly-tunnel also plants around the property that would need attention. We also home-brew wine, cider, and beer and preserve what we can from the garden or when fishing or hunting. The aim is to be as self sufficient as possible; therefore we have a very short foot-fall for food.

    We want people who are willing to help with home/garden improvements to the land & house. ***Therefore in 2013 we are asking for people with various skills and trades to contact us.****

    The on-going work includes weeding, gardening, planting-on, watering plants, egg collection harvesting and processing of food when is season. Also help with general maintenance in and around the property such as painting, fencing and general /cleaning both in & outside the house etc.

    We have a policy of only taking persons **over 21** who have to be true animal lovers, as we have 6 working dogs 3 Bedlington Terriers & 3 Springer's, a lazy cat, chickens, ferrets also a Kune Kune pig & Pot Belly Pig who is about to gave birth to 7 piglets.

    Accommodation is a self- contained flat, with availability to Wi-Fi. Great food fresh from the garden or sea, mealtimes may vary due to our work commitments, however we ensure there's always food available to prepare yourself if we are not around.

    You need to be able to follow instructions and work unsupervised; as we expect work to be finished when asked. We never ask persons to do work we are not prepared to do ourselves. We both work and are not always home together, but we can be contacted if required.

    You will have plenty of time to explore the regions beauty. We are not VEGETARIANS and prefer meat/fish eaters; we eat mainly from gardens, fish we have caught and meat we butcher.

    It's a great chance to learn new skills; immerse yourself into the laid-back attitude of West Cork and enjoy its true beauty, very interesting people.

    We are situated 2km from shops and pubs, and 10km from Bantry Town. There could be opportunities to fish & hunt in season. We can provide bikes access to Wi-Fi; we also to introduce helpers to others in the area.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need people with skills in construction, boat repairs as hope to get foot-paths around the house completed. Also we want to erect another tunnel and build raised beds.
    We basically need people who can work unsupervised, have the ability to get tasks done and are true animal lovers. Who are willing to help with cooking and sharing the work load.

    We do not take persons aged under 21 or who are vegetarians

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English & Irish, little French & German

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Fully furnished self contained apartment, where you can chill out and do a small amount of cooking i.e. lunch's. meal times may vary due to work commitments however there will always be a meal prepared.
    There is Wi-Fi, use of bicycle's as we are approximately x 10km from Bantry town and 1.5 from the nearest bar.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We provide good food most of it from our own garden and tunnels. We also home-brew, beer, cider, wine and we also preserve many things from the garden. There could be opportunities to go fishing weather permitting. hunting when in season. Our aim is to be self sufficient.
    All of our animals have their own personalities and are good fun to watch especially our new additions 7 piglets who are a week old as of 19/7/13

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    between 4-5 hours, however a little extra when we are around

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 552796468991

Verschenke eine Workaway-Mitgliedschaft zu Weihnachten
mehr