Come and help us in our eco homestead by the Redwoods. USA

Country

USA

Bisher 89 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.09.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    502

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Homestead in the Redwoods we live 1/4 mile from the redwoods and the mountains of Northern California. We prefer to host two traveler at a time but will take the right solo person....Internationals our favourite as we miss traveling . t’s summer so lots to do ....warm weather clothing..... gloves for working out door...your own transportation as it’s 20 mins from a town... seeds to plant, beds to dig three gardens to get ready.
    I am an artist who runs a gallery and frame shop and makes films in my spare time, over the last 2 decades I made many films to help save the redwoods and fragile ecosystem , my husband is a master decorator and green roof consultant and loves to fly fish..
    .Right now we need help with the gardens , pulling invasive plants. Working on the veggie beds , pruning the orchard...and so on... Our place is near the river and 40 mins drive to the sea.
    NOTE: No public transport so u need a car or plan to stay at the farm a lot.. We go to town but not all the time... you can walk to the redwoods and river plus a Buddhist center across the road .
    If we can host you Youll get a chance to live like a local and be in an area that was the center of the counter culture and back to the lander movement, community and sustainability.
    We consist of small house hold in Northern California, about 200 miles North of San Francisco on almost three acres of which we are developing using many gardening practices including permaculture techniques, learning Koren natural farming too .. We have one dog and sometimes a horse and guest donkeys, a vegetable garden, an orchard and wild bears.

    Helpers can participate in many areas mostly outside, but some inside work from time to time,,working in the garden, and helping to restore the land to its native habitat by removing scotch broom in the winter. . We have multiple other projects in the works which we would love help with. Remember it could be very hot so you a hat.. long sleeve shirts .. ......
    Please read below to see if you are the right fit.

    Gardening
    Building (if skilled only)
    Canning
    General Maintenance
    Canning and food preserve
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

    -
    Help at art gallery on community projects (occasionally)


    OUTDOORS:
    pruning; weeding; landscape planting, watering; sheet mulching, building
    sustainability e.g. permaculture and e o friendly

    INDOORS:
    hoovering/vacuuming, bathroom cleaning, mopping, dusting. ( only trained folks in the art of cleaning and this is occasional.

    Note:
    we're a mix of vegetarians and meat eaters who are in to healthy food, we prefer folks that do not smoking tobacco and drinking only occasionally.. we do enjoy the occasional drink with dinner. No drug problems or users , it your allergic to bees or wasps...probably not the spot for you, due nearest hospital being 45 mins. ... we prefer folks who are open minded and we host a lot of Buddhists in our guest apartment so we’re not in to partying on the land. .. We don’t mind the odd well behaved dog , this not a kid safe place and we can not take folks with kids.... we have 200 foot cliff in our yard...


    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities
    Some of us have travelled Africa and , Mexico, England, , New Zealand, France, Germany, Spain , Morocco and know the west in the USA from Death Valley to the redwoods like the back of our hands. , We enjoy sharing our stories, life experiences and philosophies while hearing others travel stories, life experiences and philosophies. We also love learning about other cultures, learning some words/phrases of another language, discussing ideas and showing off Mendocino County, local spots
    We have a cabin in the winter for up to 3 people to share and camping in the summer , with showers, kitchen and a bedroom plus sleeping couch... the cabin is mostly only available in the winter....we great tent spots , plus a shower and bathroom block folks can use the cabin kitchen to cook plus we share meals and provide food to cook your own.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We have all traveled and we from the uk living in the us some of us for over 25 years, as a film maker of environmental films I have traveled the west for years filming in nature, We’re very close to the mountains the sea and the Redwoods.. It’s america but a different kind of America’s homestead and back to the land movement area... This is a dramatic landscape with a huge range of interesting people, we work a lot with elderly folk and have a few
    Native elders who we help with food, housing and friendship...lots of interesting artists and skilled crafts people pass by, I also run an art gallery in the local town and do picture framing if folks are in to art...

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We’re looking for folks with outdoor skills, small permaculture type farming skills and handy with tools a plus for a homestead, building, carpenter , pruning orchard, gardening... we’re growing a lot of food so we also need help with a farm stand sometimes in the spring . Good at House cleaning is a plus, all folks staying must help keep communities area very clean in cabin,
    Jobs in the winter can be Digging, weedingin, pulling invasive weeds, building soil , multching, digging up blackberrys, pulling scotch broom, keeping community space clean, pruning if you want to learn or know how to in the winter, saving seeds, planting seeds...harvesting veggie...making pies in season...canning in season... helping with small building projects for folks with some experience of how to use basic tools., Duncan is a builder and can teach some folks who have previous building experience. ..

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    cabin in winter, camping summer toilet and shower . We have a single bed and a sleeper couch..plus pads if needed ... ..Their is a kitchen with stove , fridge and oven hot water and a shower. We expect the community areas to be kept clean ..

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Best if you have transportation but if not it’s still possible to get to town as I go in to my gallery 3-4 days a week, I’m the winter you need wet weather gear... and you may need to work in the rain.....if you are extremely allergic to poison oak...we have a bit around the land so may be not a good place for you...we have no TV.. and only very slow internet.. u can check emails and basic web stuff... no video or u tube ...

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 544386684584