Help out with our much loved permaculture garden in a small rural town called Killyleagh near Northern Ireland's capital: Belfast

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 57 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.04.2019

  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    ***We have chosen a week to host volunteers. We will host between the 25th and the 31st of July.***

    Hi there! My name is Rowan and my parents are called Alison and David. I had a few experiences with Workaway as a volunteer in 2015 and they made me think that it was something that could be good for my parents, but as hosts.

    We're a friendly family who appreciate nature and the land for what it is and are fortunate to have a piece of our own.

    We will only be hosting volunteers for one week each year.

    My parents live in a small rural town called Killyleagh which is about 20 miles south of Northern Ireland's capital: Belfast (where I currently live). They have about 2 hectares/ 5 and a half acres of woodland. Within this they also a have a small patch where some fruit (apples, pears, plums, raspberries etc.) and vegetables (potatoes, onions, leeks etc.) are grown. My mum and dad have used permaculture principles as guidelines for how they have treated and shaped the home that I grew up in and its something that I'm becoming more and more interested in.

    The garden has become a huge part of my mum and dad's lives. It takes up a lot of their time, but If they didn't enjoy it then they wouldn't have been doing it for the last 23 years (i think). I thought that a few extra hands, as well as my own, could really help them.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There is always maintenance work to be done in the woods or in the vegetable patch. Plus my mum would like to create a path around the edge of the woods. However, my parents have a few ideas for more creative/enjoyable tasks - something that you could learn from and really take something away from.

    While you are here it we think it would be fair if 4-5 hours of work is done daily and if you want you could cook once in your time here, also. We're always open to trying new food so feel free to cook what you would like. Plus, of course, you would have 2 days off if you're staying for the week.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There will be 2 beds available in the house, plus a sofa bed and, if necessary, there is more than enough space for tents to be pitched. However, there shouldn't be any need to bring your own as we have a few.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    From my experiences I think I got a reasonable understanding of what Workaway is about. I think that as long as a mutual respect for each other is kept between volunteer and host then everything should be ok. This means that the host will provide food, somewhere to sleep and will help the volunteers with whatever they can. In return the volunteers will help for 4-5 hours (depending on weather in our case) and maybe have some ideas of their own on how to improve the project/home. Plus, both can exchange ideas, foods, tastes etc if they would like to and ,importantly, everyone should try to enjoy themselves. Simple as that!

    We have good wifi, aren't smokers (but you can as long as its outside), do eat meat, but can easily cater for vegans or vegetarians. Unfortunately, we don't have any pets as our old kitty, Lucy, died last year :'(

    The weather here in Northern Ireland can be very unpredictable, so much so that we can experience all 4 seasons in 1 day! This means that it might be a good idea for you to bring some waterproof clothing. In addition, some good sturdy shoes will be needed to work in. The photos that we have put up show our place at its brightest and in a very good light, but like I said the weather may well not be like this during your stay.

    Oh! Almost forgot to say.. Killyleagh is a great spot as a place to stay. You would be slightly off the beaten track and you shouldn't expect a place buzzing with activity (that could be a good thing or a bad thing depending on what you're looking for). It does, however, have a castle, cafes and pubs. Plus, you'll be situated right beside Strangford Lough, and have Belfast about 20 miles to the North and the Mourne mountains 20 miles to the south. Both are quite easy to get to and great in their own ways. Despite the rural feel of the area, many interests and hobbies can be catered for, so I'm sure that you can have a great time staying with us :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 517612373975