Join me in home improvement projects and starting a food forest in Galesburg, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 9 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.04.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Ge the chance to help out at the beginning of a big project! I've just moved back to my hometown from a decade in California, bringing with me a passion to transform the monocropped fields of the region with perennial systems, while working to expand the local food web.

    The site will function as an example food forest within a city lot, and of retrofitting old homes for efficiency and away from fossil fuels. The house is an 1870's Victorian in the process to being restored, using traditional green practices such as plastering. The 1/2 acres lot has two mature pear trees, and young chestnuts, apple, blueberries, and pawpaw, with lots of room for more. There is another lot down the street that will be used to grow annual vegetable crops, trees and vibes Future community space in its early days.

    Stay just a few blocks from downtown and the Amtrak station, in Galesburg, a sweet Midwestern town with lots of history, beautiful old homes, trains, and friendly people. And a great natural foods store!

    I live with my partner John and his mellow dog Piper. Reach out with any questions or if you are interested in stopping by.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Get a glimpse into Midwestern American small town life. Galesburg has a theater, small college, cute shops, and lots of history, esp. Carl Sandburg, Abe Lincoln, and trains. The area has lakes, rivers, and some hiking, and rich soils.

    Learn skills that will prove useful in many aspects of life.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Current projects include gardening, permaculture design, tree planting, and landscape maintenance. Also opportunities to help with woodworking, cooking, and house repair projects.

    This is a great spot for anyone who wants to learn more about any of these skills, or is already adept at them. Some I am very knowledgeable about, such as tree care. Others I am learning as I go.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Hebrew: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Private bedroom with large windows, shared bathroom.

    I will provide food ingredients for three meals a day and we can rotate cooking for dinners. I eat mostly organic, vegetarian food with occasional fish. You are welcome to cook meat in the house so long as you clean up after yourself.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I've traveled a lot in my life and I enjoy to connect with fellow roamers, and be able to repay the many favors bestowed upon me by hosting.

    I've got a big project on my hands and any help is appreciated. Lots of ways to plug in.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Yes, I have pretty good internet and spaces to work.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Places to park in the back of the lot near the pear trees, easy level alley access.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Yes.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Max 3-4 hours 3-4 days a week, 1 day a week 6-7 hours



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 439375168717