Experience country life in the lakes and mountains of Lomabardy, Italy

Country

Italien

new host  

Bisher 69 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

    noch nicht bewertet
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.02.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    97.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Come and join us in our beautiful country house in the mountainous part of northern Italy. We moved here 20 yrs ago as we fell in love with this quiet corner of land. Our house' fence borders with the woods behind our fence. We grow some vegetables and fruit. We rescue lots of cats who live happily around the house grounds. We have 2 friendly dogs, Dingo and Sole and a few chickens and ducks. Mama Penelope lives here all year around, plus her two grown up daughters Samoa with her hubby and son and Jamaica that come and go for long periods of time. Penelope is a very friendly and bubbly woman, super active and creative. A very hard working woman above average! She is very generous, helpful and energetic, a great person to work with!!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    First of all Italy has a culinary feast for the palate that you will not miss staying with us! Penelope, is a real traditional industrious cook, she makes her own pasta once a week. We love our coffees and coffee breaks with our homemade cakes ah ah ah. In our grounds there are several bees hives and twice a year we get honey from them. It's very enriching to learn lots of local recipes and more. If you love being surrounded by nature and tranquility this is the place for you. The woods access is just behind our house and you can safely walk along the several tracks. Just up the mountain there a locally famous cave " Buco del Corno" to explore from april till september. Wild animal spotting such as foxes, deers, boars can be done around the area etc...Also you can take a bus and visit Bergamo and the ancient and quaint upper town. If you like art and museums there are lots of options in all the different cities around our region and the ones that border Lombardy. Our region besides being mountainous, is rich of lakes. Close to Bergamo airport there is one of the biggist mall of Italy if you like shopping , but the local markets close by give you more of a local taste. Also we are a multilingual familiy, Penelope doesn't speak fluently English but she knows a lot of words and can teach Italian, with a lot gestures too as Italians are known for! Her daughthers speak English and Spanish.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Helpers must be neat, clean and helpful in all activities including some house chores (like sweeping the leaves around the house..)Pleasant attitude and sociable ...respectful and considerate of the house rules. We work 5 hours each of the 5 days. Sometimes we only work a few hours and we make it up another day, especially if the weather changes....so you must be flexible. Outdoors 'type' of people and those who are fit and have done some physical work and are able to complete tasks quickly are more suitable. Healthy and fit is probably also recommended. We mainly need help in digging the land to plant veggies, watering the plants , pruning the trees, sanding and painting the wooden shutters and balconies, indoor wall painting (in spring only). Fixing the ground fence only where it needs and finally some help with small building projects ( just for general maintenance) fixing things that with years wear out. In winter we need some help with carrying the wood in the shed. Bring some work shoes, work gloves and old clothes as we get a bit dirty.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Italian, English, Spanish, a little French and Portuguese

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own comfortable accomodation and bathroom. We provide clean towels and sheets. Foodwise we have 3 meals a day: breakfast, lunch and dinner. We cook for the workawayers and eat together generally. Feel free to bring your own snacks and wines! If you have very specific dietary requirements (like gluten free, only organic, diary free, vegan etc) it is best you look for an alternative host. We tend to eat more veggies and legumes than meat for ethical reasons, we like to eat healthy but we are flexible and give in to some 'palate sins' at times!!
    We offer picking up and dropping off between 7am and 9:30pm, from the closest train or bus station.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In your time off you can do sightseeing around the many beautiful cities of the northern part of Italy. Heaps of destinations that you can easily reach by train in a day or a weekend away, like Milan, Como and the lake, Venice, Montisola (the biggest lake island of Europe), Verona, Bassano del Grappa, Marostica, Torino etc.... if you like hiking there are lots of trails and groups that organize nearly everey weekend excursions. Not far from us there an interesting cave open to the public only from spring to autumn. We are a friendly family but we also love our time by ourselves at times, reading or making art and crafts, cooking etc...We are generally quite clean and tidy. We have our own system that is not complicated , but practical to make life easy . We expect our workawayer to help us keep up with that but also to enjoy the work with our bubbly mom and the relaxing moments. We are sure that our workawayer will not be disappointed at all!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 436197649559