Help a single mother close to nature in Kopavogur, Reykjavik, Iceland

Country

Island

aktualisiert  

Bisher 70 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.01.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    71.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Close to nature but still not far away from Reykjavik downtown

    I am a single mother with disability. I have recently found a job that fits my needs very well but as a result I have no energy left to clean and cook and and take care of regular maintenance around my home.
    I have three children, one is 20 years old and has moved out of the house, those still at home are 15 year old girl and an 8 year old boy. I am also a licenced foster parent so at times there will be more children at home.
    I also have to tiny dogs.

    I need someone to clean for me, do laundry, go grocery shopping and cook dinner on weekdays. Some days I might need you to be at home when the boy comes home from school.
    If things go well I might ask you to take care of the house, dogs and maybe the kids for a weekend or so while I go for short trips. That I would negotiate some payment for you.

    We live in the upper floor of a big house right at the edge of the capital area. 10 min walk to nature, 5 min walk to a lake close by and a bus stops nearby that can bring you to downtown Reykjavik in 20 min.
    We built our house ourselves and my apartment is not quite finished yet. What remains to be done at my apartment is as follows:
    Inside doors need to be painted
    Walls need to be painted again and cracks need to be filled.
    Rails or walls around the balcony need to be built (on one balcony are a temporary rail, the other needs to get a patio and walls.)
    Main bathroom needs to be finished. It has a shower, bathtub, sink, cabinets and a toilet but still needs to be built around the bathtub, lay down tiles and such.
    Second bathroom is still just a storage room. Really want to get that into a functional bathroom.

    I offer one bedroom with a double bed. Can also move one other bed in there if there is a pair of friends that are interested. I also welcome single mothers with a child or two.

    Me and my kids are quite the Geeks and love to watch superhero movies or tv episodes and all that is sci-fi and fantasy. We love to play boardgames and have quite the collections of such, I knit and braid hair and we do puzzles and all sorts of activities.

    I welcome all kinds of people into my home. I do not care what sex or what orientation you are, what religion you belong to, what kind of piercings, tattoos or weird hair color you have.
    All that I care about is that you are fun to be around, hardworking, nice to my children and my dogs and I need you to not have a criminal record. No recreational drugs and I prefer non smoking.
    I am a Lutheran Christian but I do not need you to bee. I will respect your religious views and I expect you to respect mine.

    If you have special dietary needs I will provide for that in most aspects (within reason). I do need you to be able to cook all kinds of various nutritious dishes with food from all food groups for me and my kids, but we are happy to try new things as well.

    We are a relaxed household that likes to have fun and see the brighter side of life.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You would get an opportunity to learn about Iceland and Icelandic traditions. I would love to take you on day trips to see interesting things. My kids both speak fluent English so you will be able to get to know them well and have fun with us.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    As stated above. Housecleaning, laundry, grocery shopping and cooking dinner on weekdays.
    Secondary I need some home improvements made as well.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Icelandic, English, Danish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I have a single bedroom. In it there is a double bed (an extra bed can be added), a TV, a desk, shelves, closet and some drawers.
    You would be included in all family meals and would be expected to just grab what you want from the freezer and cabinets, like one of the family.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live very close to pure Icelandic nature. In our neighborhood there are many people with stables and horses in their backyards. A riding path is behind our house. We have sport centers, grocery stores, swimming pool (Iceland has the best swimming pools, heated outdoor pools where we go swimming all year long. Nice hot tubs and at most pools we have slides as well), restaurants, charity basar, two schools and a preschool, nursing home and more within walking distance.
    If you are a EU citizen you gould get a job at any of the various places around here as well.

    You can also go on short trips around the country, see the sights, go whale watching, fishing, byking, clubbing (my oldest works at an amazing pub/nightclub that is all vegan, has Drag Shows, Karaoke, Helium Karaoke, stand ups, concerts and more. And that is just one of the many clubs downtown. She could also show you around.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My three kids. The oldest has moved out of the house and lives with friends in a flat downtown.
Taken from the balcony of our house - though this still needs rails and is for now off limits to kids. But this is also the view from our kitchen
At Midgard - The Icelandic ComicCon - in full cosplay. She is a character from Danganronpa (hope I am spelling this right) and he is a Knight from Monty Python's Holy Grail fully outfitted with a coconut horse.
Playing games while camping on summer vacation.
Our cutest little dogies. The white and brown has grown a bit since this was taken. These are Buffy The Sadness and Depression slayer and Amy Pond.
My sweet boy and our little Buffy
Amy Pond
A part of our BoardGame collection (yes we are total geeks and proud of it)
Just a normal afternoon at our Lego Disney castle.
Me and my middle child at her day of Confirmation.
me my son and Buffy the dog.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 429875263244