Please help me get ready for my Van Life. Experience peace & quiet in rural Kansas - USA



Bisher 12 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    Please help me get ready for my Van Life. Experience peace & quiet in rural Kansas. Beautiful Sunsets and small town living, yet only 20-25 minutes to the city.

    I am a 49 year old empty nester. I'm getting ready to embark on a dream I've had for years. I plan to sell my house and build a cargo van into a camper van so I can travel long term in it. I currently own 1.5 acres with a four bedroom, two story house with a finished basement. I am planning to sell my house in 2019 and I have some projects I'd like some help with to get it ready and the van ready to live in. Volunteers could either help with those projects or help with general housework or yard work so I have time to work on the other projects. I work outside the home 2.5 days a week for 25-30 hours per week.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I have been both a guest and host to travelers for a number of years. I like the idea of sharing communities. I'm open and non judgmental and enjoy visiting with people from all over the world. I've also traveled a fair amount and enjoy sharing tips and knowledge. I am a bit of a homebody on my days off and enjoy relaxing and working on crafts I enjoy such as knitting and sewing. I can share travel tips, especially for traveling on a budget. If you're not comfortable in the kitchen I can teach you some things there as well as I enjoy cooking and baking. I could also teach you some basic knitting.

    If you volunteer here you will be able to experience rural Kansas. If you're lucky maybe even a Kansas thunderstorm. Hopefully not tornadoes though. They really aren't THAT common, I promise. We do have some beautiful sunsets. Although I do not currently live on a farm, my next door neighbors have a variety of animals and we could probably visit them. Their chickens visit my yard all the time. I did grow up on a farm though and have lived in Kansas my entire life, so can answer your questions about farming and living in Kansas.

  • Arbeit


    Someone with some handyman type or carpentry skills would be great. I've bought a van to convert into a camper type van to live and travell in full time. I could use help making it into my home. This will require some basic building skills. There will be insulation to be put in, a bed and cabinets to be made, a fan/vent to wire, things like that. Knowledge of solar panels and how to install them with batteries, etc. would be awesome.

    Possible house projects touching up paint in some areas of the house, fixing some loose tiles on the floor, replacing some metal pieces on the roof. I also plan to remove some old carpets and have them replaced.
    Ongoing help could be used weeding flower beds or cleaning them up, tree and bush trimming. There would also be deep cleaning chores once it gets closer to time to list the house. I'm considering having an estate sale to get rid of everything all at once so I could need help with that.

    If you have a little electrical or plumbing knowledge and skills that would also be awesome as I have a couple small projects that fall into that category as well. Most of things I need help with are small projects that would only take someone that knows what they are doing a short amount of time.

    I would like an average of 4 hours of work per day in exchange for accommodation and food. If you prefer to work longer hours per day and then take more time off, that's fine. We can figure it out.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen


  • Unterkunft


    Private bedroom with a twin bed on the second floor of house. Comfortable mattress. Ceiling fan in room plus additional fans or heater provided if needed. House has central heat and air. Two shared bathrooms. My house is clean and comfortable.

    Most meals can be shared or food will be available for you to make your own. If you are working and I'm away at work, food will be available for you to make yourself something to eat for breakfast and lunch. On your days off you would need to provide your own food.

    Two indoor cats live here so you need to be okay with them and not allergic. I have wifi with good internet coverage and cell coverage.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Due to being rural there is no public transportation. You would need a vehicle or perhaps bicycle to go most places. It is one mile into town where there is a bank, post office, library, church, gas station and small convenience store. Seven to eight miles to grocery stores and supplies you might need, Twelve to fourteen miles to Wichita, which is a large city with everything else you might need or want to do.

    In your time off you can check out Wichita and the surrounding area. There are a variety of things to do such as art museums, historical museums, Botanica, and the Sedgwick County Zoo. Tanganyika Wild Animal Park is only about six miles away from me. Wichita has several local breweries and some revitalized areas with bars, shops and restaurants. In the summer there is an old drive in movie theater in Wichita, Cheney Lake State Park, as well as numerous other parks and recreational areas. A little further drive can take you to an underground Salt Mine Museum and the Kansas Cosmosphere and Space Center in Hutchinson, KS. There is also the Prairie Sunset Rail Trail that starts just a mile away from my house. If you tell me what kinds of things you enjoy I can try to give you suggestions.

    Due to allergies, I can not accept any smokers. No drugs allowed. While I drink alcohol on occasion, I don't on a regular basis. If you are looking to party and plan to drink alcohol on a daily basis, this is not the place for you. I am unable to host more than one person at a time or other animals or pets.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    4 hours/day, 5 days/week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 419596774765