Come and help us with different projects like building a sauna/pizza oven, help on our small holding and in our home! UK



Bisher 137 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    Couples wanted for 2019!

    Hello, we are a family of six, myself, Ali and my husband Trevor and four children: Fynn 18, Megan 17, Gil 15 and Eve 9. We live 4.5 miles outside the traditional and attractive town of Bradford on Avon and 11 miles from the historic and beautiful city of Bath in a spacious rural barn conversion.
    We love travelling and have spent most of our married life overseas with the children. Having lived in Papua New Guinea for the last 5 years we needed a new adventure when we came back to the UK - and this is it, setting up our own smallholding. Even though we both spend a lot of our time working in the garden its a lot of work for two , so it would be great to have some help!
    We are an active family, we love cycling, walking and sailing - and scuba diving in the right climate! - And the kids play rugby, cricket and swim.
    It can be quiet some evenings - when the children disappear into their rooms to do their homework, but equally it can get busy with family and friends calling over - especially on the weekends.
    We have a games room with table tennis, TV and darts board - which of course you are welcome to use anytime. Outside we have a trampoline - and any number of rounds and oval shaped balls lying around. We are also frequently driving into Bradford so happy to give lifts when needed.

    We are lucky to live in such a beautiful area. - Wonderful walks along the Kennet and Avon canal bustling with canal boats, many traditional pubs - some lovely old villages - and of course Bath and Stonehenge just around the corner .

    We all really enjoy having Workawayers staying with us and look forward to welcoming you into our family!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travellers will benefit from living in a truly beautiful part of the English countryside and enjoying being part of a busy and interesting British family.There is such a variety of projects to do here that we are always learning something. We have lived overseas as a family for years and miss it, so look forward to meeting new people from different countries and cultures. We only speak English (unfortunately - although two of our kids are learning German) so if you want to improve your English then there will be plenty of opportunity to chat.

  • Arbeit


    Main projects at the moments are: Maintenance in the vegetable garden: care of fruit trees and making raised beds, improving the garden area and beginning on the small building projects below.

    We have a small holding and need help establishing our vegetable and fruit garden. If you are a keen gardener or interested in having a go then this project will be great; we have an ambitious amount of fruit and vegetables we want to grow this year. There is also continuing work in the animal areas. We now have 4 lambs (born early April) as well as our four ewes, 4 hogarts and two pigs. We have 4 ducks to accompany the chickens - who are great fun although we never quite know where they will lay their eggs! There are 3 healthy hives in the Orchard and we actually hope for honey this year!

    We would like to build a pizza oven, sauna and hot tub and will need extra hands to get these projects completed. Plus a camp kitchen to be set up down by the tipi.

    There is also plenty of help required in the house to do from basic spring cleaning to painting. So, lots of scope to either do a bit of everything or take on one whole project.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen


  • Unterkunft


    You will have your own double room with wardrobe and chest of drawers and use of your own bathroom. If you feel like camping out we also have a large canvas tipi in the paddock which you are welcome to sleep in.
    Our home is a converted barn with 6 bedrooms, 3.5 bathrooms, a sitting room, dining room, kitchen and games room (equipped with table tennis, darts board and TV). We have three acres, 12 friendly sheep, chickens, ducks and pigs. Our land is divided between family garden, orchard {that includes the bees, chickens, ducks, pigs, greenhouse and large vegetable garden) and paddock area for sheep, tipi (March to October) and potential sauna and pond! We have a busy and fun household, with four children, animals and frequent guests, it can be slightly chaotic at times.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    During your free time there is plenty to do. From visiting the many tourist highlights: Cities like Bath, Bristol and London, Heritage Sights like Stonehenge and the Jurassic coast and locally exploring the nearby countryside which is stunning on foot, by bike or canoe. There are plenty of excellent British pubs nearby. We will not have a car that you can use but are happy to drop you off or pick up at nearby train or bus stations as we are often out dropping off or picking up our children from school and/or activities. London is only 1.5 hours away by train and there is easy access from Bath to places throughout the UK. In the summer there are beautiful rivers to swim in, in fact we are 4 miles away from the oldest open air swimming club in the UK at Farleigh Hungerford. There are also some good mountain biking routes nearby and if you wish to go further afield, there are some great places in Bristol and Wales where you can hire bikes as well.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 366769157854