Permaculture homestead help in Morrill, Midcoast Maine, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 16 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.08.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 12 Tage

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    David and Willow have been living in an old (1828) farmhouse for a little over 3 years. We've been working on planting a food forest, with fruit and nut trees, berry bushes, medicinal herbs, and many more perennial plants. Right now we are primarily growing food for our own consumption and gifting some to neighbors and friends. This year we're hoping to make progress on building a living space for friends, family and non-paying guests like WWOOF and Workaway volunteers in our barn, and plant out more of the shrub layers throughout the property.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You'll have the opportunity to learn some of the early phases of a construction project, and the steps necessary to create an air-tight and well insulated living space. David is an energy efficiency and clean energy professional, so he can also demonstrate how we've transitioned our house off of fossil fuels to be powered mostly by sunshine. We can show you some of the principles of permaculture in action, and how we've designed our homestead to create healthy soil and an active ecosystem. Willow is an experienced cook and has clinical herbal training, so she can share a variety of plant uses and preparations.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We're primarily looking for help with building a small apartment in our barn for workaway-ers, WWOOFers, and family to stay in. You will be helping alongside us, and the help may include framing walls, roughing in electrical and grey water plumbing, insulating, and finishing the space. We plan to hire a licensed electrician to do the skilled electrical work and will only be roughing in wires at this point. Our goal is to use a mixture of low-carbon materials and natural materials as much as possible. There is also lots to do in the yard - mulching trees, planting, harvesting, etc.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a guest bedroom in our house with a queen bed. The kitchen and bathrooms are shared, but you'll have one of the bathrooms primarily to yourself. We can cook and share food together, but are also happy to provide basic staples if you prefer to navigate meal times on your own. We are omnivorous with a high emphasis on plant foods, and can happily accommodate any dietary needs. We have years of experience cooking gluten free/vegan/vegetarian.

    We also have an indoor/outdoor cat named Basil. He is kept out of the bedrooms, but will happily come in if you want him to!

    We request that our guests use only natural and biodegradable body care products. This includes bug spray, shampoo, lotions, deodorant, shaving supplies, etc. We can provide soap, shampoo, conditioner, laundry soap, natural bug spray, and sunscreen for your use as needed. We're not set up to host children or pets at this time, and do not allow smoking.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are in a beautiful area of mid-coast Maine. The ocean is only 15 minutes away. In Belfast (one of the nearest towns) you'll find a food co-op, parks along the bay, restaurants, hiking trails, ocean access, and more. We're also a short driving distance from many lakes and swimming holes, local breweries, independently owned shops, and several towns with a variety of offerings. Acadia National Park is about 90 minutes away.

    There is a public bus that runs from Boston all the way up the coast to Bangor with a stop in Belfast. We would be happy to pick you up from Belfast if you don't have your own transportation. If you want to do some exploring of the area on your own time, we recommend having your own transportation.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a large paved driveway that is relatively flat.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 354486293212