Help our family with self-sufficiency in Crymych, Wales, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 21 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.06.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a home educating family with two children, 8 yrs and 12 yrs. We are using permaculture and regenerative agriculture to guide our management of land that was previously overgrazed by cattle, and we need help to restore it to a sustainable, self-sufficient smallholding.
    I am planning to grow heritage grain in an alley cropping system, alongside other food growing, all for our own use. We try to reduce, reuse, recycle as much as possible. I have travelled a lot, and lived and worked in many other countries, and I love meeting new people and learning about them and their cultures.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is a 12.5 acre smallholding set in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park.
    It is a very interesting time to be in this part of Wales. There is a resurgence of demand for sustainable, local food supplies, and resilient community building, which has gained more traction since the pandemic has emerged. There are a lot of people trying to live more in harmony with nature, which is very encouraging. A lot of natural/eco building, particularly linked to the Welsh One Planet Develpoment (OPD) planning policy, which several of my friends are undertaking.
    And very importantly, the landscape here, the coastal path and the beaches are stunning! You can immerse yourself in the ancient, and more recent, history of Wales, with it's burial chambers, iron age forts and legends of dragons.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for helpers ideally with the following:
    - skills in basic carpentry, or plumbing, or eco-building, or food growing and gardening.
    - an ability to work independently
    - to have an intermediate level of spoken English
    - lots of energy to get things done and enjoy helping out!

    Other things that are useful:
    - resourcefulness and good at solutions - eg can come up with creative ways to build things out of found/old materials
    - good with children

    Some of the things we will be working on, depending on the season/time of year:
    building compost bays out of pallets
    grey water system design/install
    making compost toilets
    mulching young trees
    land clearing (of rubbish) and repairs
    path and track repair
    establish a food forest
    managing woodland
    lime washing old buildings
    building a clay bread/pizza oven

    Please note that the help we have listed is purely for our own private family home, and Workawayers will not be helping with any aspect of our campsite business, including building the infrastructure.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Greek: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Niederländisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is a small two berth touring caravan with compost toilet, electricity, gas hob and grill, electric kettle, fridge. Shower is in another building and there is no wifi in the caravan. Mobile phone coverage varies according to which mobile provider you are with.
    At present we are unable to provide food, but we hope to improve this situation in the future. We ask for 3 hours a day, in return for accommodation only. Some days more hours may be required, which can then be reduced on other days.
    You must be prepared to follow Covid guidance.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    My favourite days here, are working hard on the land, coming up with creative solutions for projects, maybe a dash to the beach for a swim, then lots of laughs around a campfire in the evening. The attraction of this place is that it is very peaceful and away from busy roads, but this also means it is a 10 minute drive to the nearest shop. Would suit someone with own transport, or who is prepared to stay on site for the majority of your stay, though you are welcome to hitch a lift when we drive somewhere, and we may have time to plan the occasional excursion. You can walk to the village of Nevern, which is 800metres down the road, where there is a pub, a church with some ancient artifacts, and the ruins of a castle. There are lots of things to do in the area - beautiful landscape for walking, beaches for swimming, old castles and iron age forts to explore.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    6 metre maximum.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 336387312529