Volunteers for natural-self sustainable building project in Tepoztlan an hour from Mexico City

Country

Mexiko

Bisher 401 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.10.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    671

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hola, we are Vicky and Marcelo and have built our home with natural materials to in time be self-sustainable. We wanted to get out of the working system and bought some land in Tepoztlan to build our house then in time our hostel. We are 1 hour south from Mexico City. We are living on a land of almost 2,000m2 with wonderful views, lemon trees to sit under and relax and only a short walk into town or to mountain the other way around.

    Now we are in the process of setting up a campsite and have finished as well the dry toilet and cob showers using cob and bamboo with the bajareque technique, with the earth from our land and simple kitchen. We have the foundations ready to start a small cob room. We are building it from cob, volcanic rock, timber and natural materials.

    We attended a course on cob and timber building in Ireland. If you look on the Internet for Mud and Wood that is where we went. Also we have taken several courses, like Design of EcoVillages and Sustainable Human Settlements, cob ovens, tadelakt, earthen floors, bamboo building and superadobe.

    We have basic cooking facilities and we have showers with hot water at our land. We have lots of space for camping. We hope this way to share talents with others when they are travelling. Also we are keen to focus on permaculture and growing our own crops. We welcome open-minded people to come and join our family here in Mexico. We have really enjoyed the volunteers who have shared their travels with us. Great memories.

    At the moment in Mexico we are building up contacts in the natural building world and are attending more courses. We hope you would like to join our team and learn new skills whilst seeing Mexico, learning the language and the Mexican traditions.

    The village of Tepoztlan is un Pueblo Magico and it is lovely to explore the market for fresh colorfull vegetables and Mexican souvenirs. The village is one hour from Mexico City to visit the Aztec pyramids, markets and museums. There are lots of courses you could do here if that is of interest to you e.g. reiki courses. There are lots of places you can go for massages and temazcal. There are yoga classes here too. I like to sit outside in pretty cafe in the centre as there is a wonderful view of the mountains.

    If you wanted a beach break Acapulco is 3 hours away heading south. My husband would be happy to talk to you about the Mayans and we could advice you on places to visit. We have lots of guides on Mexico.

    Also if you are interested in a tattoo my husband does them and is in to geometric designs. He has a shop here.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn cob building skills, work as a mini community. Practise English and Spanish. Live in the Pueblo Magico Tepoztlan and be in nature a few minutes walk into the mountains. Meet like minded individuals and share talents.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are searching for volunteers who have either an interest in learning how to build out of natural materials and are eager to learn and participate, people who have skills in cob, straw or timber building. Also, individuals who know about architecture, solar energy, permaculture that would be great too. We are willing to share our skills with you and are looking for enthusiastic people who want to get dirty and learn something new or share their building talents. We hope to receive people for at least 1 week but preferably 2 or more. We have experience with workaway and find people are just finding their feet and learning the technique and it is time to move on after 1 week.

    We are easy-going people and love to meet new people. Due to the economic situation in Mexico we provide the main meal of the day which we all take turns in preparing and sharing ideas. We also provide cooking facilities- electric hob, plates, pans, knifes etc. We work 4 days a week 5 hours or 5 days 4 hours. we want the journey in building to be fun and share ideas we have. If you have any other skills like teach yoga, massage, make art we can spend time sharing and practising.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There is a lot of garden space for camping between lemon trees.
    There are two hot showers and sink areas for the volunteers to use. An electric stove can be provided and basic cooking pots and plates etc. There are sitting areas, tables and chairs and we have at least a weekly fire together.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We hope to show you a bit about life in Mexico and make you feel welcome in our family. Also if you are keen to learn Spanish my husband Marcelo will be happy to communicate with you in Spanish. Also, my Marcelo knows a lot about the Mayans if this is of interest to you.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 325795753599