Enjoy the warmth and hospitality you'll only find in sweet home Alabama, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 98 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.10.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    174

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Come on down and enjoy the warmth and hospitality you'll only find in sweet home Alabama! My husband, our cocker spaniel and I live in gorgeous Mountain Brook, just 1.5 miles and over the mountain from Birmingham. You can find the young excitement of a university town along with the finesse of the arts, walk the streets where civil rights history was made, and live on the peace of a wooded acre which is still walking distance from anything you need. We have a beautiful "cottage in the woods" complete with a creek and a bridge even though we live within the city limits. We're starting a renovation project and there's lots to do! I'm a good 'ol southern cook and we'd love to have you come and be a part of our family.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Central Alabama is in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains and smack in the middle of some of the most historical events in the Civil Rights movement. Battles during the Civil War were fought nearby and Helen Keller's Tuscumbia is only hours away.
    If you enjoy hiking and beautiful scenery, we have it right here and there's more just a short drive away. Birmingham is an old steel town, and Sloss Furnaces is still operating as a teaching facility in the metal arts. We have a fantastic array of talent in little theatre, and even Broadway comes to town. Our symphony hosts the like of Yoyo Ma and Itzhak Perlman. The Chattanooga Choo Choo and Rock City are just 3 hours away, Nashville is also an easy drive, and Atlanta, GA is only 2 hours by car.
    If you're looking for the beach, the sugar sands of the Alabama Gulf Coast is only 4 hours away and Florida is right next door. New Orleans makes for a lovely weekend trip.
    Come learn about the South you can't find in romance novels. We are a people working hard to build bridges spanning the issues of difference and bigotry. We have a large Creek Indian presence here with an ancient history of their own. Come on down and experience a Southern hospitality only Alabama can offer!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We're primarily looking for a single or a couple willing to help me with small building projects for both inside and outside the house, assist with some home renovation detail work like cleaning up after the workers and landscaping the yard. We're hoping to turn our home into a B&B and there are so many different types of projects that need to be done. Outside we're wanting to reconstruct a bridge that is falling down, design and implement landscaping which will be attractive to native plants, butterflies, birds and bees as well as humans. My husband wants to build a 3-hole putting green, and I've already started building a small patio. Inside the house, I need to paint the walls, add some wood mouldings and ceiling fans, reupholster some furniture, paint other pieces and build still more. A strong man or woman with skills in general carpentry, electrical work, painting and/or sewing would be great!!! Most of these projects will be of the "learn as we go" type, so even if you're not professionally proficient, if you're interested in learning, this is a good place to come! Housekeeping is definitely desired, and help in keeping the house as tidy as possible, getting organized, shopping and cooking is also needed. We have room for a small family; please contact me for details.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have two private guest rooms with a full bathroom (shared - hall entrance) on the second floor of our home. Our bedroom is on the same floor, but you'll only be asked to share your bath if we have another guest. We are a kosher home, so I will provide meals or supervision in the kitchen. We would LOVE to try dishes from your own traditions! If you prefer to eat out, we just ask that you not bring non-kosher food back to the house unless it will fit in the little fridge we have for you. Smoking and recreational drug use is definitely prohibited, but alcohol is allowed and may be consumed on the premises; we just ask that you drink in moderation. We have an exercise area with a treadmill, recumbent bike,body trainer/rowing machine and free weights and are trying to set up a game room. You are welcome to watch our TV, make s'mores in the fireplace or on the deck outside, and make yourself at home in any area of the house with the exception of someone else's bedroom. There is a laundry with full size washer, dryer, steamer and ironing board available for your use.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in a very quiet residential area, but it feels like a world apart. Steve and I love to entertain, and that usually means lots of good friends, lively conversations, great food and local brews. Shopping, dining and entertainment are all within a 5-minute drive, and there are hiking and biking trails available for an those wishing for a quiet amble or real pros. Birmingham boasts a beautiful art museum, botanical gardens, outstanding libraries and even a pretty zoo. We have mountain lakes and streams, outdoor concerts in the park and a AA baseball team. There is a bicycle at your disposal, and a bus stop three blocks from the house. Rental cars are readily available at reasonable rates for longer distances and/or weekend trips. We have two colleges and one university in the area, so there are lots of places geared toward the 20-something crowd. Things close down early here, so it's also a wonderful place for anyone a little older looking to relax and breathe a little. Please come! We love having company and learning about the world around us!!!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dogs are fine. No birds or cats.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 321713978455