Come and chat with us in German and enjoy our tranquil spot in Sligo, Ireland



Bisher 63 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    Hello! Our family lives in a tranquil spot down a track on the shores of Lough Gill Co Sligo. The plot is on a few acres of woodland with lots of red squirrels, foxes and badgers! We have a dog, Toby -a golden retriever- and two rabbits. We are 9km from Sligo town.

    As I teach German at a local 3rd level College I am glad of a German native speaker to chat to in order to maintain fluency. Our youngsters like to learn new German phrases so interactive activities form part of the daily routine.

    As part of your 'cultural exchange' with us it will be great to have a German native speaker to chat with me and I of course will talk with you in English about our Irish culture and society. I am a lecturer in European Studies and have a broad interest in the politics and society of Europe today.

    German native speakers will be welcome ALL Year Round also. I am always glad of interactive conversation with German native speakers as this 'cultural exchange' is mutually beneficial through the 'workaway' philosophy. Help with light house work and some painting will be part of the 'help' routine.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are an Irish family and travellers will be part of our family life - sharing meals with us and involved in the daily routine. We are involved with the local Rugby and Gaelic so attend matches etc : this gives an insight into that part of Irish life. I teach German and European Studies so I love to talk with our workawayers about any and all topics. My husband is an architect and has an interest in all related themes. I am happy to help with English language learning in a formal or informal way. We have lots of books to peruse or read during a stay with us. We live in Yeats country so there are many opportunities to read and learn about this poet. Our home overlooks that famous island The Lake Isle of Inisfree.

  • Arbeit


    All workawayers are welcome and can assist in gardening, light cleaning, some painting and chatting! Of particular interest are GERMAN native speakers. A German native speaker would chat with me as this helps keep my fluency. There are a variety of activities around our home in the summer months - baking, treasure hunts, swimming with water safety, foraging for wild strawberries. playing table tennis, darts, cards. Interactive conversation with me and the youngsters will be part of the 'help' routine. Light house work, some painting and gathering sticks/timber in the wood to build up the winter stock are all part of the "help" required.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    French: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    Travellers have their own room in our house. The toilet and bathroom with shower are nearby. I provide all bedding and towels. Workawayers have use of the kitchen - we tend to eat an evening meal together which is cooked by myself or Jim. We are happy to share cooking with guests if they wish.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Sligo is a gem of a county! From our house you can do lots of hikes and swims and within 10 minutes drive there are lovely beaches and walks (eg. Rosses Point and Strandhill ) We give a lift to Sligo town no problem and from there you can access busses or trains to all parts of Ireland. There is a particularly lively music scene in Sligo with lots of live bands - trad, country, jazz. Our arts centre - The Model and Niland Gallery is very well worth a visit with a most welcoming cafe space.

    We have had many exchange students with us and also travellers who help out and stay with us. It has been a very enriching experience. Tolerance and mutual respect are our watchwords and we hope travellers enjoy our easygoing family atmosphere and all that this part of Ireland has to offer.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    4-5 hours a day, 4 to 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 275128773473