Summer sabbatical in Chewton (Castlemaine), Victoria, Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 6 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    08.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Dani (32) and Alex (36) and we live on a small property in Chewton, Victoria. Dani is a freelance florist/ renaissance woman and Alex owns and runs his own restaurant in the centre of Castlemaine - Our house is always full of food, flowers and wine! We share our life with 22 chickens, 1 dog (Pepperoni), 2 goats (Hannah and Jaala) and 1 sheep (Egg).

    As a couple, we love projects! Over the past few months we have been building garden beds, tidying our chicken coop, finishing our glass house and sowing spring/summer seeds for our own use and our respective businesses. We spend lots of time thinking about growing food and improving our garden.

    We have turned our block of land from a traditional "cooch and roses" garden into a thriving food and flower oasis.
    We use no-till, food forest, permaculture principles in some areas, long garden beds in others and some area is set aside to regenerate the overworked goldrush soil. It goes without saying, but we use no chemicals or pesticides on our crops!

    We mostly cook vegan and vegetarian food from our garden (Including eggs from our chickens. Be prepared for frittata...), friends gardens or the weekly Castlemaine Farmers Market. Alex who cooks most nights, has been a chef all his life and is happy to teach you some culinary skills, like making pasta, fermenting or baking etc. Over summer, we make many things from our little plot of land, such as apple cider vinegar, tomato passata, garlic braids, dry herbs and spices and lacto ferment peppers, mushrooms and radishes etc. As Dani is an omnivore, we occasionally eat responsibly sourced meat from small scale producers or wild caught species.

    During your stay you would be more than welcome to eat and drink at Alex's restaurant. The bar is situated in the centre of Castlemaine and exclusively uses organic, biodynamic and regenerative food - all grown in Victoria.

    We are looking for someone to live with us for 1-2 months over Christmas/New Years as our work schedule can get pretty packed - to put it simply, we are looking for someone to help out so our life doesn't turn to shit. The ideal candidate would love the outdoors, is good with animals and doesn't mind getting their hands dirty.

    In 2019 we travelled Sicily with Workaway, so we have experienced firsthand the satisfaction and the joy that these exchanges can bring. We are looking for someone to assist 22 hours a week in exchange for food and board (including internet). We are LGBTQI+ friendly and are open to hosting an individual or a couple (no pets.soz). The ideal applicant would be double vaccinated (COVID) before staying with us.

    It is also important to note that if you are working online or studying, we are more than happy to have you work while you stay, as long as the 22 hours of tasks are completed each week. You would be more than welcome to use our internet and work from our studio/study if you desired.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    - Experience and help out as we transition from life on the grid to off the grid.
    - You will be cooked for by a professional chef on a regular basis and 50% of our food over summer will be from our garden or local organic producers.
    - Alex can teach you how to forage in the area ie. mushrooms, indigenous foods and edible weeds.
    - Alex can teach you some culinary skills
    -Come and dine (on us) at our restaurant over your stay in nearby Castlemaine

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Everyday tasks (To be shared with us)

    Gardening - Watering, weeding, potting up seedlings, seed saving, planting, picking food from our garden, turning the compost.
    Chickens - Collecting eggs, clean coop when required, release chickens in the morning and lock them away at night
    Goats - We adjist our goats on neighbouring land to assist with maintaining weeds and grass. The goats need special feed occasionally, hooves trimmed (We are just learning how to do this!) and to be moved to neighbouring land on sunny days.
    Dog - We walk and feed Pepperoni 2 times per day.
    General cleaning - Bathroom, vacuuming and watering plants

    Aspirational tasks (If you can help us with any of these, we would be extremely grateful)

    Cabin: We are looking to build a 10m2 x 3m h off grid studio/cabin in our backyard.
    Plumbing and irrigation: We are currently working on a dripline irrigation system and installing a bathtub in our glasshouse.
    Fencing: We are always fixing and building new fences!
    Establishing a Bee Hive (in 2022).

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The room has a lovely view of the Chewton Bushlands, which you can see through the doors that open onto our wrap around balcony. The room is fully furnished with queen size bed and wardrobe. We have ducted evaporative cooling for those hot nights and a heating system when it is chilly. You will have free reign over the kitchen and living areas, including our studio. You are welcome to use our fridge and washing machine.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    -Nearby we have the town’s beautiful iconic swimming hole (Expedition Pass Reservoir)
    -5km walk to Castlemaine (along a beautiful walking track)
    -Walking and bike riding tracks 100m away from us.
    -We can also give you any information you want on other watering holes/cafes/pubs around us.
    -We only have one car, and can give you lifts to and from Castlemaine.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    22 hours over 4-5 days. We are flexible with days off.


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 214516941322