Help to restore Wanderer, an 1886-built wooden sailing boat.

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 94 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    81.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi, I am Arthur. I am currently rebuilding a 40ft (12m) wooden boat from 1886. It is quite a big project and some help is greatly needed if this boat wants to go back on the seas soon. I am myself working as a traditional shipwright during the week as a part time job and the rest of the time I mostly spend working on Wanderer (the boat).
    I like the idea of this boat as being a way of getting people together around a project of restoration and later, sailing. Many friends and traveler have already past by in the last year (the project started early 2018).
    I am ;iving here on my own in general, but many visitors are passing so it is not lonely. And many people live on their boat around me too.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Life in the boat yard is quite interesting I find. You get to meet people of all sorts. You will probaly learn some skills of boatbuilding, either to work with wood, maybe metal and all traditional building methods. Then of course there are other things than the boat. Cornwall is a beautiful place to walk, the sea is not far.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    So the work is essentialy to restore the boat. Boatbuilding is a quite a diverse trade. but in the outline, the jobs will be in 2018 stripping out and restore structural work, 2019 new planking and new deck, closing up. It alays includes a lot of cleaning, sanding, some painting certainly. Well, just ask what we will be up to when you want to join. But we can always adapt the jobs to what you want/can do. The job list is very long! You will be also helping with all the chores obviously.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    French, Italian, English, Dutch

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accomodation is unusual as well. I used to live in the boat but I moved recently into a container next to it. Which I am turning into a cosy home/workshop (see pictures, I will try to update as the wok goes along). The boat and container are in a boat yard and there is a shared bathroom with toilets and shower (it is like in a camping). The view on the water is stunning too!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The place is surrounded by nature, a beautiful and relaxing place to stay. If you like any outdoor sport you will be pleased here. Cornwall is also a great surfing place (I don't surf much myself, but many people do). And well, just explore the place and meet people around. Share some nice meals too.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, flexible


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 199398971535