A creative exchange and for ceramics lovers, near Barcelona, Spain

Country

Spanien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 213 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    63.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 7 Tage

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am a Japanese Canadian artist presently living in the lovely city of Sitges, 30 min. from Barcelona. World nomad at heart and lover of freedom, nature and indigenous art forms and culture, I seek to open up my home to other creative types. I am a Buddhist practitioner and also yoga doer, I love long walks in nature. I have a large and quiet home which is a great place to get away from the din of the crowds and find inner peace!

    My creative path has meandered from Sculpture to Painting, to more Craft-based skills, like Dyeing with Plants (Shibori) and Basket-weaving. My latest muse, is RAKU CERAMICS! I would love to host people with creative skills and spirit and especially people with Ceramics and Fibre based knowledge. I am a self taught ceramicist and have only had my kilns for a few months, so there is so much to learn!!!

    My idea is that this Workaway would be a creative exchange. You could have use of the studio and make clay objects or other art projects in your spare time. I only ask you pay for the cost of the clay, and contribute towards the cost of firings...

    I am in the process of setting up a home-based Ceramic Studio. I have an Electric Kiln and also a gas kiln for Raku. I mix my own glazes but still have so much to learn. So I am eager to host people with Arts and Ceramics backgrounds and experience.

    I have various studio tasks with which I need help, such as painting shelves, rinsing and making tests.

    I also need someone who can help me during the actual Raku firing, when I take the wares from the kiln and throw sawdust into the reduction chambers. This would be one of the most important tasks.

    I have some painting jobs, and handy person jobs

    As well, as a large overgrown garden which needs taming. Some sweeping and cleaning tasks.

    Sewing and Crochet experience as well would be welcome.

    Computer and Photography Skills highly appreciated!

    Cooking! Of course. Love people who can cook!

    and of course I love to share and have a good laugh!!!

    I live in a large Villa with a private garden and pool, only a short walk away from the town center and the beaches. I live in a Zen Minimalist environment, cook mostly vegetarian food, and I have a small Maltese dog. Barcelona is a quick train ride away. It is a fantastic place to wander and explore. There are many cultural events, Music concerts and a lively and vibrant scene. Here you can visit the excitement of Barcelona during the day, and then return to the quite tranquility of a secluded refuge.

    There are many beautiful places to visit in this area. Monserrat. Tarragona, and more North the Costa Brava.

    I am a single mother and have shared time with my 8 year old son. So I cannot really host people who like to party or come home very late. I have a small Maltese dog who is very sweet.I am very interested in Indigenous Cultures and Worldviews, as well as Animal Rights and the Environment. I have travelled to many countries and feel myself a free spirit at heart who enjoys meeting other similar spirits.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sitges is located near Barcelona in the Region of Catalunya. This region, in particular, is undergoing a lot of Political changes and Dynamicism, due to the Catalan Independence movement. To be able to understand deeper the aspects of these changes could be very interesting for different types of people, journalist, anthropologists, political scientists, as well artists. I find the question of cultural preservation and belonging, ever-present. Many people do not fully understand the differences between the Spanish and Catalan identity.

    In addition, there is a very strong gay and lesbian (LGTBQ) Culture in Sitges. This has led to a small oasis of very open-minded and International exchange within a small community.

    There are lots of questions and observations to be made, about Post-Franco Spain and the left-over Political attitudes.

    Also, going deeper into the history of this area, including Neolithic Sites (Olerdola) , Iberian sites, and Roman sites can be very enriching. There are places of natural beauty, and wonderful excursions. It is also a popular area for Cyclists.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I am particularly interested in people with Creative Souls. If you have an interest or experience in Ceramics, all the better. But for the kind of assistance I need, no experience necessary.

    Please note: BREAKFAST AND COFFEE IS INCLUDED. But the rest of your meals, in general would be your own responsibility. I can bring you to the Supermarket when you arrive, and we can do some shared meals. But in general I expect you to be independent when it comes to meals...

    AS FOR THE HELP I NEED:
    I am in need of some studio tasks, such as painting bat wash on shelves, making test tiles, mixing glazes, washing brushes.

    One of your principal jobs, would be to help me with pulling ceramic wares from the Gas Kiln, and throwing sawdust into the Reduction Chambers! It is an amazing process and everything happens very fast. But as I often do multiple firings, I need your presence over the course of several hours on firing days.

    Sewing skills are welcome.

    My house is large and I have trouble staying on top of everything. So sandman skills, plumbing, electrical skills and basic fixing up things is welcome.

    I have a few rooms to paint...

    I also have a large and wild garden which I cannot keep under control. So if there are people with gardening skills and some maintenance work, I would be so appreciative.

    During your free time you are welcome to use the studio to work and produce your own works!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I have a giant luxury bedroom with a King Bed, a Terrace with sea views. A very comfortable and relaxing stay in fact. You have a private bathroom, and a large walk-in closet. It is on the second floor, and there is a lot of privacy.

    I would expect 4 to 4.5 hours of help a day, and the rest of the time would be free time for you. I ask for this time as the level of the accommodation is quite high...You would be responsible for your own meals. However, some meal exchanges and shared meals could also be expected. I could help you with grocery shopping nearby. You could also put the hours together and work for 8 hours one day and have the next day off. Or work more hours one day and less the following... I am very flexible.

    I have good wifi, that your free to use (until 11 pm), and it works mostly throughout the house. As for the kitchen, we could arrange an hour you have access to the kitchen. We normally eat late, so it could be any time outside of the 7pm to 8 pm timeframe.

    The train station is a short 15 to 20 minute walk down the hill. You can catch a train here to Barcelona which takes between 35 and 45 min. The village is lovely to explore as most off the centre is Pedestrian, and there are many beaches to visit.

    I usually walk my dog once a day and know all kinds of wild trails around the area, if you feel like joining!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are several beautiful, sandy beaches only 15 min. walking from the house. The village as well is only a 15 min walk, or short bike ride down a hill. It is a wonderful cosmopolitan town with many shops, restaurants and cafe's. The train station is located within the village. There are 4 trains an hour to Barcelona. The fast train takes about 35 min. and the slower train is 45 min. The train brings you right into the center of Barcelona along a beautiful coastal route. You will pass through Castelldefels and Gava, and also near the Airport.

    In Barcelona you can see Gaudi's Masterpiece (still under construction) the Sagrada Familia. Also the Park Guell, and La Pedrera, and many other Gaudi buildings. There is the Picasso Museum, Miro Museum, Antoni Tapies Museum. The MACBA, Museum of Contemporary Art. the Paseo de Gracia, has world class Luxury Shopping. The quaint neighbourhood of Gracia, with it's small designer workshops and plazas. The Barri Gotic, with it's labyrinth of winding streets. So many magic places to discover!

    Above us, is the Penedes, a very important wine region in Spain. Monserrat, the sacred mountain of Catalunya us a short car ride or train ride away. There are many hiking and excursions nearby.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4.5 hours a day, 5 days a week

me doing a raku firing

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 144295193691