A new organic farm needs help with construction in France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 39 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    24.09.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I’m Noémie, 28 years old, French, and I have just started my own organic farm in Gascony, South West France. I’ve started breeding outdoor reared heritage pigs (black pigs called porcs noirs gascons here) and laying hens. I have 40 pigs for now and plan to have about 70 in total at the end of the year including breeding sows and a boar, and I have 230 laying hens.
    The neighbours are other farmers : goat/sheep farmer producing yoghurt and cheese, market gardeners producing vegetables, and a crops farmer. We all work separately on our activities, but we eat lunch together every day (always between 10 and 18 people around the table), share tools and help one another when one needs it.
    If you come workawaying here, be prepared to only work on the pig/hen side. I can make you visit the neighbouring farms but they won't be able to host you for working as they already have their own teams and interns.
    ****I can only host FRENCH SPEAKING workawayers because some people on the farm can't speak any English***

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The farm is a vibrant environment with many activities so many skills to learn and people to meet ! If you are keen to learn about animal farming and breeding, cooking farm products, butchering…or just want to practice your French while constructing stuff then you’ll like the farm.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    This is the start of a farming activity so a lot of construction involved ! Building wooden houses for the pigs, setting up fences, finishing building the chicken coop, renovating a room for egg storage…I live in a yurt which I built myself and now I'm starting building a wooden cabin for a bathroom and future sauna.
    If you like DIY, please do come, I’d love your help ! I have some DIY skills as I have already built several things on my own, so I can share what I know, but more than that I’d be very happy to learn from others too.
    The aim would be for you to help me on the pigs/hens constructions 5 hours/day 5 days/week. The rest of the time can be enjoyed as you want.

    2 weeks stay is ideal. More if you and I and the rest of the group feel comfortable with the idea !

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    French, English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You'll be staying in the caravan in which I have lived for about a year before building my yurt. It is spacious and well insulated, has gas heating and a little gas stove and fridge. Dry composting toilet and shower next to the caravan and yurt.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Lunch : we all have lunch together (the 15 young people from the farm) from Monday to Friday in the big farm house, and we have a rotation for food prep so my cooking run is only one lunch per week. Mostly local food from our farm.
    Dinner : everybody has dinner in their own places so no dinner in the main house with the other farmers. We will be at the yurt/caravan. Most of the time I can cook for you and I, but sometimes you will have to be autonomous with food if I have to leave, in which case you can help yourself in my fridge and shelves and cook yourself dinner.
    The farm is 10 minutes away from town, so we sometimes go in town for drinks with friends, or yoga, or for a movie.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 141968974316