Experience life in an authentic rural village, get your hands dirty and volunteer for a nascent cultural hub in Aquitaine, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 24 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.02.2020

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a pair of Canadians who have installed themselves in a middle-of-nowhere village in the Périgord Vert - Laura is a classical musician by training, Nancy is a historian with a doctorate in music history, and we're both passionate about being the artists and creators we wish to see in the world. We are working to create a multifunctional space for art and artists, music and musicians, products and producers from the local area, as well as providing a space to make connections between the village's inhabitants, the region, and the wider world.

    We are in the process of making our barn over into a bar/live music venue/cultural hub for the region. The project is enormous and we are very excited about it, but in the short term we need YOUR help with a variety of tasks, from gardening, to basic construction, to boring-but-sorely-necessary manual help.

    (This is a LGBTQIA+ friendly, outspokenly and intersectionally feminist, anti-fascist household)

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our village is in a very 'real', non-touristy part of the Dordogne, so you can experience life in a rural french village in a very authentic way! There are dozens of lovely châteaux nearby, and visiting those can bring the area's history as part of the 100 Years War to life. We also have a number of small, excellent craft beer breweries in the area - our original inspiration for opening a bar! - which are available for your sampling, if you like. The area is well-known for excellent food, including foie gras, duck, walnuts and truffles (though your hosts don't eat meat, feel free to sample the area's specialties if you want). Each week of work will include optional cultural excursions to areas of interest; your hosts will be providing the transport and commentary.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our beloved barn has some structural problems that architects, masons and roofers will eventually be coming to help us fix, but we need to get the space ready for being reconstructed. We need help with moving a large quantity of hay, wood, and assorted farming materials from the barn's previous life, plus boxes and furniture of our own we've been storing there, out of the professionals' way.

    Additionally, the house attached to the barn will eventually become accommodation for artists in residence and visitors has some DIY tasks to do - breaking down old plaster walls, removing rubble, a few touches of plastering, making the downstairs space useable. We also have our in bar operation swing three nights a week in our "beer garden" at the back of the barn, so you know you can enjoy excellent local craft beer on the premises!

    A lot of this will be purely physical labour, I'm afraid, but nothing too onerous - the more help we have, the faster and easier it will go!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, French, some German, minimal Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will be staying in a caravan that we have parked in our garden behind the barn. You'll have an outlet in there to charge your phones, and private bathroom facilities are in the house just next door. You will have access to a refrigerator, which we'll stock with breakfast foods, and you'll have tea and coffee making facilities. Nancy and I live a 2 minute walk away in another small house in the village, and each day we will be providing 3 simple vegetarian meals at home. We will also be offering cultural excursions to local sites of interest in the surrounding area, but if you'd like to eat out and about while we're doing that we would ask you to cover those costs yourselves.

    We will provide vegetarian meals at home. Food bought during excursions out and about is your own responsibility! :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 115897469952