Join us at our smallholding in the valleys of Wales, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 19 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We live in Wales in a village at the edge of the Brecon Beacons; and the Gwrhyd Mountain is literally on our doorstep. We have a 4-acre smallholding with pigs and bees, where we grow food and trees for our family's consumption. We grow all sorts of vegetables in our veg patches, greenhouse and polytunnels. We have recently dug two ponds for wildlife but they are also great in the summer for cooling off. We have various rainwater harvesting systems, a small workshop, honey shed, and a compost toilet (otherwise known as the ‘Spotty Potty’). The rest of the time we work from home - in the arts and in community renewable energy. We have a lovely cat called Dipsy.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will be able to learn about life on a smallholding and can be a part of it and help to take care of the bees, pigs, the vegetables etc. We cook and run all our heating and hot water on a woodburning rayburn, and have an array of solar panels for electricity. You can learn some Welsh and a bit of Welsh culture as well as practicing English language (if that’s not your first language). Also you can learn about our work in community renewable energy, for example our 20 year project to build a community windfarm which is now the largest co-op in Wales. Emily is involved in the arts locally and you can get involved in some of her varied creative projects.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would like help alongside us in the general running and maintenance of our smallholding:
    • Garden work eg sowing, weeding, harvesting , according to the different seasons.
    • Beekeeping eg managing colonies, maintaining hives, extracting honey -according to seasons
    • Helping with the pigs
    • Woodchopping and stacking
    • Building work eg constructing a wooden shelter, maintaining outbuildings, limewashing.
    • Help with other projects as and when they happen

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Welsh: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will sleep in a renovated railway wagon in the field, with a woodburning stove. We will cook and eat together - all organic food, and as much as possible from the garden.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The village has limited bus links but we can pick you up from the station and it's very close to some beautiful walks. It's a coal mining area with interesting history which you can see in the landscape. There's a local voluntary run cinema and nearby arts centre. We have various things like table tennis table, bikes and art equipment that you can use if you wish.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There is always space to park a campervan, but it's on the road outside the house rather than on the land itself.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 111538589657