Help us in creating different life project in the countryside in Bovalino, Italy.

updated

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    25/05/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    We are five friends (threefive families): Alessia, Marco, Sole, Lingam and Gisella. We have three daughters: Ecate (6), Zoe (3) and Gaia (3) and one son: Suami (2).
    About a year ago, we decided to live in the countryside, to create a different lifestyle project.
    Each of us is unique and brings his own energy to the project.
    We live in the countryside of Bovalino Marina, on a hill 2 km from the centre of the village and from the seaside.
    The project includes the creation of some residential units with sustainable tecniques and materials, permacultural inspired land cultivation, harvesting and processing of fruits of the earth, as raise our children (and ourselves) as homeschoolers.
    In our field (5 ectars) there are ancients olive trees and oaks, a vegetable garden and a shed. In the shed there is the common space with a kitchen and a mezzanine, where we sleep. Out of the shed there is the compost toilet and a space for washing dishes and clothes.
    The kitchen is a common space. We have breakfast within 9, lunch is around 11:30-12:00 and dinner is around 18:30-19:00 according to children needs and seasonal cycle.
    We work constantly to improve the field and living spaces.
    *️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️PLEASE BEFORE APPLY READ ALL THE PROFILE AND BE SURE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN THE PROJECT*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️
    *️️This is a hands-on experience, so IF you're afraid of INSECTS or digging in DIRT, this will NOT be a good fit for you.*️️
    *️️*️️*️️We NEED volunteers who are truly interested in sustainability and in helping to contribute towards the future of the planet and of our Project. We expect a good attitude and work ethic and reward our volunteers with the opportunity to learn our approach.
    If you have any questions you don't esitate contact us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    The volunteers can help with daily or extraordinary tasks in the field or in the living spaces. For example in the field they can collect wood for winter, harvest or transform fruits and vegetables, weeding, watering, managing compost. During autumn we are mainly involved in olive picking. In the house they can help with kitchen chores (cook and clean) or other common housework.
    There are no fixed working hours, except for specific needs. Since we are a community also during free days help in the kitchen is requested.
    We think the best way to collaborate would be to start with a tryal week of volunteering and then, if we feel good together, agree for a longer stay.
    If you have any questions you don't hesitate contact us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is no accommodation indoor, you have to pitch your tent under an olive tree or an oak. We have a tent to give you when you stay here. There are a compost toilette for physiological needs and drinkable running water, outside.
    We don't guarantee WiFi, We don't have washing machine or electricity (there is only a solar panel for the essentials).

    GET HERE: be aware the area is not well connected with the rest of the world and transport in general can become a kind of adventure in south Italy, I hope this makes the trip more interesting and will select the best and motivated workawayers ;) .

    AIRPLANE: the 2 closest airport are LAMEZIA TERME and REGGIO CALABRIA, they are both international so have a look on skyscanner.com to find which is best for you. Eventually you can also check CATANIA or ROMA but they are quite far away.
    If you choose to come by Rome, we reccommend to choose a bus. or
    When you make the request write "ECATE" to show me that you read until here.
    If you have any questions you don't hesitate to contact us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in countryside: nearest village is Bovalino, nearest city is Reggio Calabria (80km). If you rent a car you can visit many ancient small villages in the area. It's a grecanic area.
    In your free time you can visit a lot of ancient towns, like Gerace, or archaeologicals sites of Greek colonies, like Locri Epizefiri or Kaulon.
    The sea is near (5 minutes by car) and the mountains are at 30 minutes away by car.
    The whole coast is served by bus and trains

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn a lot of things about nature, field, children, homeschooling and last but not least you can learn about southern Italian culture.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours X 5 days or 4 hours X 6 days

Photos

Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 989331844293

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts