Modest household with a spare room and several volunteering options in Istanbul

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    07/05/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    215

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I am an engineer (f41) who lives alone in beautiful city of Istanbul, in a safe and pleasant residential area Bahcelievler.

    PLEASE READ EVERYTHING ON MY PROFILE BEFORE WRITING ME

    Mainly, I'm looking for volunteers to help me with learning and improving my German. But I'm looking for other skills as well. Please read the Help required section carefully.

    I will accept max 2 weeks of stays.

    I don't provide any sponsorship/help/invitation letters for visa. Visa and insurances are your responsibility.

    At the moment I can accept only one volunteer at a time.

    You will have your own room. Bathroom, kitchen and living room are shared areas.

    You must provide for your food. There are 3 different supermarkets in 5 minutes walking distance.

    You have full access to the kitchen as well as the living room.

    I wake up early and do not stay awake till late hours at night. If you can adjust to my sleeping habits, we will be synched and it will be better.

    I try to do yoga at least twice a week and walk everyday.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    the help I need:

    - I'd like to learn and improve my German and Spanish language skills.
    I prefer learning by speaking with native speakers or with people with very good knowledge of language. Though I still expect you to explain me grammar or help with formal and structured teaching. I plan to take certificate exams for German & Spanish and be fluent to use at my daily work.
    People experienced with adult teaching or studying teaching professions are more welcome as language tutors. And I expect you to write me how you plan to teach me.

    PLEASE READ: Please do not write me if you are planning to teach languages by watching movies listening to songs etc. I already do these things. There are plenty of resources on internet. I don't need people showing me links of movies or songs.

    Also I expect you to share the responsibility for cleaning house/ ironing

    If you have any of the following skills, you can write me. I need them as well and I will try to fit your visit in my calender.

    - skills related to create a website: graphic design/coding/SEO optimisation
    - skills related to app development : design / coding
    - skills related to e-marketing and e-commerce, social media, content writing-editing
    - moving/carrying furniture to rearrange rooms
    - writing business plans/ market research
    - industrial designers who can do product designs and prototypes.
    - yoga teachers
    - chinese reflexology massage, acupuncture therapists
    - eye healing with bates method

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a certified PMP and PMI-ACP besides having coaching and mentoring skills. I can help you guiding your work and goals.

    I'm interested in entrepreneurial management. If you have ideas we can talk. I managed many teams during all those years. I enjoy listening, talking and encouraging people towards their expectations and goals. I can be kind of a mentor to you. If you'd like to make some reference projects, I'm open to listen them and see how I can guide or help you.

    If you like I can help you learning Turkish, or share recipes from Turkish cousine.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Turkish, a little German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The flat has 3 rooms, a living room, a bath and a kitchen.
    You will have your own room. It has a bed, sofa and a nightstand.
    I have a study room you can use that as well.
    The living room, kitchen, bathroom are shared areas.

    Important rules to follow at home;
    1- No Alcohol, drug and smoking.
    2- Mine is a traditional Turkish home. Shoes stay in front of the main door. Walking inside the flat with shoes not allowed whatsoever.
    3- No uninvited guests or strangers.

    No TV at home.
    No elevator at building. I live on 4th floor.
    Central heating system.
    24/7 hot water.
    unlimited internet

    I sometimes have short term guests from another guest site sleeping on Couch in living room as well, though volunteers will always have the priority since they will be helping me.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you haven't been ın Istanbul before, you can see the historical sites in old city, all palaces, visit the princess islands, I can show you the beautiful coastline at Florya where I sometimes go for morning walks. There are many cultural activities as well.
    If you are interested in studying at a university or become a language teacher in Istanbul, you can search for opportunities. It is all up to you arranging your time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Minimum 3 hours maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

From a visit to Eyup mosque in Sep.2017. A peaceful and spiritual place.
family fun time with my niece and nephew
A view from the balcony of my flat in 2017 Jan and yes, in Istanbul it snows. It is not a desert !
I had this photo in 2016 when I visited Köln, Germany. I keep it dear because it was one of my few travels not included any business :)


Host ref number: 983266213843