We are looking for people to help out in the garden and the buildings at our house in Rahane, Helensburgh, Scotland


United Kingdom

Favourited 110 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    Hi there, we are Ben and Craig. We have a large house and garden, which we are turning into a Bed and Breakfast and glamping establishment within the next 3 years. We both work fulltime and are looking for support around the house and gardens to help us get it ready as a business over the next couple of years. We will also be using the B&B as a retreat as well for Leadership Coaching, as Ben is a qualified Executive Coach, and therefore we really want to landscape the gardens to reflect a tranquil environment. Much of the work is manual labour.

    We live by a Loch called Gareloch on the West Coast of Scotland which is an area rich with beautiful landscapes and history, and will be very happy to show people around the area and introduce them to the sights and history. We have 2 cats and 4 dogs which are very much our family. We are great cooks and enjoy entertaining and supporting those who wish to learn more about Scotland and its history. We may also need help looking after the dogs and cats.

    Craig is a senior manager and Ben runs his own consultancy business so are able to also support though business coaching.

    Please do get in touch if you're interested in staying with us and helping out.

    Happy travels and visits to you all wherever you go.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are great hosts and will take time to assist people with their language skills, take them out and about the area to learn more about the West Coast of Scotland, show them the sights; Arrochar Alps, Loch Lomond, Glasgow and areas around the City. For those that are interested in Coaching we also can coach you to improve your Coaching skills, sharing techniques and practice.

  • Help


    We are looking for people to help out in the garden with tree and bush cutting, digging, creating landscapes and rockeries, planting and maintenance, taking down old buildings and helping to build new ones. We will also have odd jobs around the house with putting in new ensuite bathrooms. To also help look after the dogs and cats occasionally.
    Also there will be work inside the house; cleaning, painting.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    A little Spanish, French and German

  • Accommodation


    We have 5 bedrooms with 1 bedroom with an ensuite, a main bathroom, and downstairs shower and toilets. You would be very much part of the household and share all other amenities within the house; Sky television, internet, 2 sitting rooms, a study/library, sunroom, scullery and large gardens. Breakfast would be a help yourself as well as lunch, and the fridge and pantry will be well stocked, however we will cook all evening meals and all meals at the weekend, as well as taking you out for meals locally.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Although in the countryside, we are about 20 minutes from the nearest Town, we have local bus services, taxis and a train goes to Glasgow everyhalf hour from the local Town. Also we go through the local Town every day on our way to work so can drop people off on days off. We are 15 minutes drive from Loch Lomond and the Trossachs one of the most beautiful areas of Scotland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours max, 5 days a week

The new additions to the family....Archie and Freya
The Big Pond getting a rework
David Marin's pond ... Putting a wall round it
Craig on left Ben on right with beard
View over the Gareloch
View up the Gareloch towards the Firth of Clyde ...taken from halfway up the garden
On the beach of Gareloch...just 10seconds from the house
At the top of the garden...and the back patio
The 'family'...clockwise from top left; Connel, Bubba, Obi and Kaylan
Halfway up the garden
Garelochhead a local village close to us

Host ref number: 982239978299