Farm life near Branson Missouri! USA

Country

United States

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/04/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my husband and I are in our early fifty’s, we live on 8 acres in Walnut Shade, Missouri...which is just 9 miles from Branson. Branson is a popular tourist destination. We have many lakes and rivers in our area. Summers are hot and humid!! We have 2 adult children that no longer live with us but are here frequently....and our grandaughter is 4 and is here a lot. We have a small little farm, with lots of dogs, chickens and pet pigs.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the beautiful Ozark Mountains, there are many lakes and rivers to fish on, hiking trails near Ponca AR are beautiful! Branson is the Midwest’s number one tourist destination with Silver Dollar City (1800s themed amusement park) and water parks. Bass Pro is just 45 minutes away in Springfield MO... Bear and Bull creeks are just minutes away.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with unfinished building projects! My husband is often gone thru the week with work so when he gets home on weekends it’s sometimes hard to get things done...we have a barn that needs some work, my granddaughters fort needs a roof...and a roof on a sandbox....the chicken house needs attention, and we need to finish the goats fort! We have fences that need mending... we often use used materials in our projects. I have a garden, I didn’t plant one this year... but would like to get it ready for next year. So mostly outside projects, some days I’m outside till nearly dark. We have lots of tools and everything needed to build. We have a big house and lots of cold A/C! Weekends and evenings we often BBQ and sit outside in summer.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom and bath (shower). Private sitting area with TV. Walkout basement... laundry room in basement. We really don’t use our basement much since kids gone, so if you need alone time it’s pretty private. We have a big kitchen and upstairs living room were we mostly hangout... big porches. We spend lots of time outside. Thru the week I don’t cook as much, sometimes it’s ‘fend for yourself’.... but there’s always food! Weekends or when my husbands home we’ll BBQ, I always cook extras so lots of leftovers. Lots of eggs as we keep chickens. That’s summertime. If it’s fall or winter I’m always cooking, soups, chili....pot roast....and I bake lots of cookies and banana bread. Big fridge and freezer, you won’t be hungry. We work hard but it’s pretty laid back around here. Non smokers. Internet and TV available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our place is in the country, pretty private but just 10 minutes to Branson, 35-40 minutes to Springfield. Lots of sightseeing... we have an extra vehicle if you need transportation most times. This is our first time hosting so we’re new at all this. I guess I expect someone who s hard working and self motivated and knowledgeable about building. There’s no fancy building going on, just good solid farm type buildings. I don’t want to micro manage, lots of times I’ll be right there working with you, but I do watch my 4 year old grand baby most days so I can’t always be there. I wouldn’t ask you to do anything I wouldn’t do myself...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Home
Chicken Coop
Garden

Host ref number: 958533237831