Author-promotion, Drug Policy promotion & Book/film-promotion in Fuengirola, Spain

updated
Country

Spain

Favourited 186 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    THE PROJECT has three parts: 1. Revive the literary heritage of my father/Senior (1910-1984: once considered a top European fiction writer and when I tell you his name and you look him up, you will be impressed), 2. Promote the drug-policy thinking of myself/Junior & 3. Sell books & film rights & apply for grants. "3" against wage or commission (your choice).

    1. AUTHOR PROMOTION/REVIVE FATHER.

    Senior was once considered a top European fiction writer but has been forgotten mainly because none of his mother countries (born Austro-Hungarian, nationalized French, and writing in Spanish) has chosen to adopt/promote him.
    1. Two of his books (one, a blockbuster & bestseller in 10 languages) were turned into movies, a third movie was produced from his script, and a fourth (his first novel) was about to be turned filmed at his demise.
    2. There's also what once must have been a theater play - a feminist text inspired by a friend (arguably the world's leading existentialist feminist) - that needs to be returned into script format from its present novella format (Marcel Marceau performed it as a mime).
    3. "There is a collection of 22 short and mainly biographic short stories covering 1911 - 1955. To this I have added 24 mainly biographic short stories of my own (1955 - 2019). I have also added a biographic/auto-biographic paragraph before every story, so that I can call it "A Family Chronicle in the form of short stories, covering more than a century": a novel form of literature.
    4. "Then there are two black humor books from just before World War II.

    I HAVE:

    A) Translated his texts so that now 40 or so are available as "e" & "paper" on Amazon (mainly in English, Spanish, Swedish, French, German and Italian) and it is normally easy to find "new translations against commission".
    B) Translated/re-translated all his texts into English while giving them the content-editing that 5 out of 7 of his books never received, improving & adapting (a lot) so that now his complete works has been published in English (and Spanish) on Amazon.
    C) Adapted his bestseller into an illustrated children's book in 6 languages & created "The Family Chronicles".
    D) Given talks on him at the local city hall & at a Film Festival.

    I NEED:

    A) Documentaries/videos (as well as initiating research) about my father's life, cine & books (he was pretty amazing).
    B) To finance this, I need an expert to apply for grants from the EU, or the French or Spanish governments.
    C) Promotion through film festivals, or any other project you can think of.
    D) Expertise in formatting, so that his books can be made as attractive as possible.
    However, I only want your assistance as long as you enjoy the part of the project that you undertake to work with. Thus, before coming, you will have to read/watch the book(s), script(s), movie(s) or theater play that you want to work with.

    2. DRUG POLICY PROMOTION.

    As a drug policy researcher my thesis is/was that we should turn away from drug illegality; that we should do so not because drugs are good, but because what follows as a result of illegality is much worse than what would follow from a liberal approach.

    I HAVE:

    Just published a book on the subject, designed to be entertaining, yet pretty "deep". The book is about: 1. How illegality in reality creates higher prices (by cornering the market), and 2. The true consequences of illegality" (corruption). My book guides the reader to find out "What should I think about illegality" (through an Excel spreadsheet that I provide).

    I NEED:

    Help in making & editing the videos: (if you watch Michiu Kaku on Youtube, that is the sort of video I would like) I've got camera, (Camon EOS 600D) lighting, scripts & illustrations.

    However, that I think that drug illegality is a terrible policy, doesn't take me for a drug-lover; if you are anything more than a recreational cannabis-user, please do not apply.

    3. SELLING BOOKS AND FILM SCRIPTS.

    When you enter my and my father's name on Amazon, you will find that over 60 titles pop up (10 different languages). In addition there ares scripts three movies, two scripts, a theatre play and a dozen treatments.

    I HAVE:

    Upgraded texts, written a new script, translated into English, etc.

    This is a commercial job, so for this you will be paid, either a wage or a commission (you choose), but you will have to convince me that taking you on in this capacity would be a good idea.

    MYSELF.

    I am Swedish/French. I got lucky with my first book that, and thanks to that I have been able to educate myself properly and to do most of “all those things I figure(ed) a man should have done” for 20 years.

    I have chosen to try to "do good” over “make money” - I.e.: I’ve forsaken Ferraris & supermodels in order to try to be of use (I know: a totally insane decision that I regret virtually every day) - and instead to tell the world that drug illegality is a is a bad idea, and that money is becoming a measure of what it oughtn't be allowed to become a measure of..

    I speak a lot of languages, I like tigers, I’m educated, I need 13 more countries to get to 200 (I am cheating).
    Actually, I am a rather unbelievable sort of person, so let’s wait with the rest of the details until we meet.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    THINGS TO LEARN HERE. Of course, there’s the opportunity to take Spanish lessons or to socialize with the locals, and I’ll speak with you in Spanish if you want. My own expertise is in drug policy and fiction writing: knowledge I'll be happy to share. There’s learning how to promote a publishing project from a pristine (aka underdeveloped/ long-neglected) platform, and of course there are a variety of courses to be taken in nearby Fuengirola (4k), Mijas (5k/12k trail/road), Benalmadena (8k), Torremolinos (14k), Marbella (26k) & Malaga (26k). If you have an interest in learning “Spanish stuff” such as the language, Flamenco, cooking, bullfighting, Latin dancing, wine-tasting, etc., this is a good place.

    THINGS TO DO. There’s tanning and a rowing machine on the roof and a mini-bath (it’s more like a tub/ fountain and not working at the moment). There’s the beach with surf, swim, diving & fishing a mile away. 200 meters from the house starts various tracks for walkers and riders (bike/horse/MC). There’s skiing in the (200k) Sierra Nevada in the winter. There are plenty of golf courses (this coast is nicknamed “Costa del Golf”), and there’s an 18-hole high-standard Frisbee-course (DiscGolfPark Mijas) just a few hundred meters from the house. For the culturally-minded: Malaga is 40 minutes away with the train & Seville is a couple of hours (local train station is less than a mile away on the road to the beach). Africa/Tangier is only a couple of hours away (bus + ferry), and Gibraltar (English enclave in Spain) is little more than an hour. Madrid is a night bus/1h flight away and a return to the Canary Islands can often be had for about €60. “El Caminito del Rey” is only 40km away as the crow flies.

    SKI. During the winter the surf is up (1.5k away) and there’s skiing (200k away) in Sierra Nevada. If I get a good response from skiers/surfers for November - April (4 people maximum accepted) I would like to make some arrangement to go there on a regular (or powder, rather) basis; nothing fancy, but maybe getting a van, some 2nd hand ski/snowboard-gear and look out for an apartment to rent. This would mean getting up there just before the road closes, drink incredible amounts of beer and play poker (spoiler alert: I nearly became a professional bridge player) until the storm abides, then climb-and-ski until the lifts open (beer & lift card not included).

  • Help

    Help

    It's all detailed above.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French, Swedish & Danish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    THE PLACE. I have a nice house in Torreblanca, near Los Boliches/Fuengirola/Mijas, Costa del Sol: it's really three self-contained apartments on three different levels, plus a nice roof terrace with a rowing machine with sea and mountain views. The house is a mile horizontally & 160m vertically from the sea: Shank's pony, bus or bike (that I provide some).

    I live in the top apartment, and the ground apartment I have turned into a dorm (2 bunk beds). Between these there's a mid-apartment that I sometimes rent out through Airbnb, but this could be used for long-time Workawayers.

    The upstairs is the working area.

    There’ll be breakfast and a late (Spanish) dinner that we will take turns at preparing.

    STUFF. The house has lots of stuff for common use: golf clubs, snorkeling gear, kayak, bikes, skis, body-boards, tennis stuff, beach-things, etc., and if your demands are not too unusual/expensive, I will be happy to get it (tell me well in advance): surfboards & Frisbee are already on the shopping list.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    GOOD THINGS.

    (i) As I live in this “Revive Senior house”, it is my intention to make it a good place for this purpose,
    (ii) The Internet is super fast (at least for Spain) at 600MB!
    (iii) There are televisions (and VPN) but no ordinary antenna/satellite,
    (iv) There are kitchens & bathrooms/showers on every floor,
    (v) Local train connects to Malaga airport, Malaga Center, Malaga station, Benalmadena, Fuengirola, Torremolinos, etc.
    (vi) There are 5 ACs in the house.
    (vii) If you engage in book-selling, film-selling or grant-application, I will pay a minimum wage (but you will have to convince me that I will get my money back).

    BAD THINGS.

    (i) It’s a 1 mile downhill walk if you chose not to bike/take the bus, and when I rented out the apartments some (esp. elderly) people found the return walk quite taxing: buses do not run after 21.30, they take a siesta break, and taxis are €7-10.
    (ii) There are only two local restaurants/bars (within 300m) and no supermarket,
    (iii) Once you get to the beach there are plenty of bars/ restaurants but in order to get to the best nightspots you have to take a right by the Mediterranean and then walk/bus/train 3k (and late at night you’ll have to walk/get a taxi back home),
    (iv) Although we will sit up on the roof terrace, having BBQ & music, this will probably never become "a real partying place".
    (v) I am new to this, so initially there will be some growing/learning pains on my part.
    (vi) You must leave no food out during summer, or ants will invade.
    (vii) Unless you are "wise beyond your years" I would like you to be at least 25.
    (viii) I insist on you arriving with a plan/project, and not with a "tell-me-what-to-do-next" attitude

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week 10-14.00


Host ref number: 952777826962