Come to the Lake District and help us with tourists and our property

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 519 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    05/11/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi

    We live on a sheepfarm in the Lake District of England and run a small outdoor café on the farm for tourists walking in the area. It is very informal with mostly outdoor seating overlooking the mountains. I'm looking for 3 non-smoking girls or a couple to help with the tourists and also in the farmhouse where people stay. If you love the outdoors and meeting a variety of people, you would love your stay here. There is a popular rock climbing crag at the back of the house with plenty of rock climbers using the café. You will need a good level of English to understand the tourists. There is also maintenance, gardening and painting jobs to do in the quieter times.

    In your free time you could climb many of the highest mountains around here and there are walks right on our doorstep. The nearest town, Keswick, is 3 miles away with a regular bus service from Keswick through our valley, Borrowdale. The Derwentwater lake is 5 minutes walk away where you could go kayaking or sailing.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists

  • Help

    Help

    You would need to help with the tourists and walkers and sometimes with guests staying in the farmhouse.
    There is also gardening and simple maintenance to do.
    One month minimum stay, please.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will share a small bedsit with a kitchen and bathroom between 3 girls. When you're helping at the farm, you can eat in the café and for evening meals I will provide groceries so you can cook for yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have some of Englands highest mountains to climb all within short distance from the farm. There are plenty of walks around lakes and little villages and if you would like to try rock climbing, the crag on the farm is the easiest to start with.
    We do get a lot of rain in the valley, but when the sun shines it's a lovely place to explore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week and the opportunity to earn money for extra hours if you wish

My Photo Album












Host ref number: 951414579122