Come stay with us & be part of our busy summer here on beautiful Manitoulin Island.

updated
Country

Canada

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello travelers! We are Anastasia and George, a gardener and a carpenter living on a quarter acre of land overlooking hedgerows and fields out in the country. We live 1.5 kms out of a small village of Tehkummah (pronounced: tA-ku-ma), 15 minutes away from the ferry in South Baymouth. There is a general store, gas station and a library in the village. There is also a tiny farmer's market happening on Fridays during summertime.
    You will wake up to amazing sunrises, see rain clouds coming in from the east, observe the darkest sky and brightest stars and an occasional Aurora borealis. There is a "dark sky reserve" just down the road.

    We have a small organic kitchen garden, greenhouse, two bee hives, a cat, and a woodworking shop. Anastasia takes care of the two vegetable gardens plus ecologically gardens and does landscaping all over the Island and also grows produce for the local discerning restaurant. George is a self-employed carpenter, specializing in traditional timber framing.

    Before settling down here on beautiful Manitoulin Island, we hitch-hiked across the Americas, traveled as trades people in Europe, 5 years on the road altogether, and now we are looking to support and host travellers.

    While hosting we like to share our knowledge about gardening and foraging, cooking, preserving food and a bit of homesteading.

    Although there is bus route around the Island twice a day, it is very limited to where you can catch a ride on it, but hitch-hiking is common and pretty easy. We have one bicycle so far that you can use to make short trips to the village, nearby lake (5 kms) or to a dune beach on Lake Huron (10 kms).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les langues
    Aide informatique / Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying with us you would get to see the Island life from the inside. We often invite friends to our home, visit pot lucks, occasional theater performances or interesting talks and presentations. Summertime is quite full of cool things to see and do on the Island.
    We'll make time to show you around in our time off.
    There are lots of stunningly beautiful spots on the Island: hiking trails, beaches, forests, swimming under the falls.

  • Help

    Help

    Things that we would appreciate help with are:
    -weeding, watering and maintaining the vegetable gardens
    -harvesting, processing and preserving in season produce
    -mowing the lawn
    -cooking, especially lunches
    -light house cleaning
    -occasional paid work on site, either gardening or construction helper
    -speaking French or Spanish to us to help us maintain these beautiful languages
    -do you know what SEO stands for? Can you build a sharp web-site and teach us how to make the best of it? We want to learn from you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Russian, French (not fluently)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would be staying in a private room on the second floor, overlooking the fields. There is a cozy loft bed with a firm mattress. Bed sheets, blankets, and towels provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    These are the House Rules that we ask all our overnight guests to follow:

    1. Our house is not a hostel.
    Agree with us on your arrival and departure times beforehand. Plan to arrive before nightfall. Clean your room at the end of your stay, leave it as you found it, wash the bed sheets.

    2. Do not bring alcohol or drugs.
    We don't use alcohol or drugs, so we ask you not to bring those to the house. No smoking.

    3. Internet.
    Use your own device to connect to WiFi.

    4. Meditation.
    We do yoga and meditate twice daily, morning and evening. You don't have to join with the meditation if you are not into it. We are early to rise (5-6), and early to bed (9-9:30). Breakfast is around 7. We ask that you are ready to start your day when we are.

    5. Food.
    We sit down together to every meal. We follow a sattvic diet, which means no meat/fish/eggs/onion/garlic/mushroom/alcohol/coffee. We do not eat a full meal in the evening, more like a snack with herbal tea. We drink a lot of herbal teas. Feel free to have a full meal in the evening if you need it though. Help with cooking, set up, and clean up after every meal. Help doing the dishes.

    6. Keep your things organized and contained.
    Please do not leave your passports, laptops, books, underwear, cameras, and cash lying around.

    7. Important: If you have read to this point, write the following in your request: "I/We have read, understood, and agree with your rules." This will demonstrate to us how thoughtful and attentive to detail you are. In your message, please describe what you are hoping to learn/do while you are staying with us and what motivated you to contact us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 889122714355