Volunteer with a family in Finland

updated

Favourited 539 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    22/02/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    268

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    65.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Explorer
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

2018

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    If you like peace and the tranquility of the countryside, you are able to experience it with me (middle-aged woman), my foster son 18 (German, foster cared by me) and some animals. I understand German language (My foster son's native language), but me myself prefer to communicate in English (Or Finnish ;)! ) At home we speak mostly "FinGelisch ;)!

    We are living in the small farm. We have three donkeys, horse, pony and four dogs and one cat at the moment.

    If you are interested, please take contact so I will tell more by mail!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    For volunteer's help there is no any regular times like example from 8 am. to 13 pm etc, but just some duties during the days. So many different things to do...- I will need help with the animals, like feeding, brushing at times and clean the horse's and donkey's barns. Would be great if you have skills to make a light riding with our horse...he loves it, but at the moment we do not have time enough by ourselves.

    -Home duties, cooking, baking...sometimes make the snow work even. Other gardening is not possible in winter time...!
    Driver's licence is necessary!

    Sometimes take care of two lovely twinboys 6-years old (my grandchildren)
    Difficult to say the exact time hours/day... more and less. Very flexible.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Finnish, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own nice room. Living like the member of family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    No public transport, but the car to use if you have the driver's lisence!
    We are living in rural areas in the very small village. No street lights...
    The nearest villageshop is in 10 kms. Nearest towns in 35 and 65 kms. Closest cities are Pieksämäki in 37 kms, little bigger Mikkeli in 75 kms.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can experience Finnish clean and pure nature...silence, fresh air. The place, where the birds still are singing :)!
    Besides these, we here by ourselves already are two different nationalities and from a bit different cultures (Finnish, German). We have met many different nationalities through the years -easy to see we humans are similar everywhere, -only cultures and manners are different. Don't let it be distressing and rigorous -take this an experience.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Summertime
In summer Just a lot of grass to cut ;)!
"Hertta," eight-years old friend pony for Saku-horse. Backsides you can see the forestwork....
Savage ("Saku") 26 years old, the former racing horse. Precently retired.
Our yeard quard Doris, two years
Volunteer help needed! The forest recreational area of horse's and donkeys. After the Forestry machinery the ground is full of branches and shrubs that should be collected away
Barn, where the horses and donkeys are living in
Our house and yard. Not a lot of snow presently yet... A dog Diesel with his favorite toy, a rubber chicken
My lovely grandsons, 6 years old twins are helping me with hay for the animals











Host ref number: 885752396963