Our family of 5 loves this island and love sharing it with others! Come see this wonderful place and help us out! Mandahl, Virgin islands

Country

Virgin Islands (U.S.)

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    291

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Live on the beautiful island of St Thomas, in the US Virgin Islands. There are two great ocean views from our place & there is a private studio apartment for those willing to come down & help. Our family of 5 loves this island and love sharing it with others! Come see this wonderful place!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are originally from the mainland USA and moved the the USVI about 6 years ago. We offer a mix of US and West Indian cultures. We love the West Indian people and know where to get good local foods and tucked away beach experiences. We do own animals & will teach you anything you want to know about them. (Our animals are on property and will be curious as to what you are doing.) We live close to the famous Magen's Bay beach & can see the Megan's Bay cove from our house. This is a beautiful and relaxing place to be.

  • Help

    Help

    Our yard is very hilly and rocky. We need help with terracing & putting in stone or concrete stairways to access and use the property fully. We are looking for someone willing to put their hard work and talents to use. There will be lots of digging and rock moving involved, come clearing, and possibly planting new vegetation. After the hurricanes, we cleared the yard of most vegetation. So, the yard is access able and ready to be worked on. We are anxious to get our yard back to usable state with trees and vegetation!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a spacious private studio apartment with it's own shower and eating area. The apartment was slightly damaged during the hurricanes, so the kitchen is non functional at the moment (though a stove can be hooked up for those that would like to cook their foods).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Weekends are a great time to explore the island, go to the beach, go snorkeling, go hiking, visit St John or the neighboring British Virgin Islands. We love to see the islands and show people where we live. We are a family of 5 and sometimes our kids get loud and stomp around. Please, be aware that you will be working/living alongside a family that may not always be super quiet. We tend to relax in the evenings and go to bed fairly early. Our house was damaged in the hurricanes Irma and Maria, but the house is livable and we have been living on the property since the storms. Every little bit of help is appreciated and helps us get back on our feet. We will NOT be providing a vehicle for workawayers, but do recommend a vehicle for island exploration and afternoons off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 871933679834