Help out at our Farm on the North East Coast of Aberdeenshire, Scotland

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    03/12/2016

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

2016

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    We are John & Sharon Butterworth, Both active & fit 58 Year olds.

    Our Property is a Farmhouse with 60 acres plus land, pasture for grazing & silage, woodland, & two CF20kw Wind turbines & a small CL camp site for 5 caravans.
    We are situated on the North East coast of Aberdeenshire, with access to many interesting places.
    We live out in the countryside approximately 5 miles equidistant between a village called Mintlaw & a Town called Fraserburgh. We are on a good bus route to these villages & towns & Aberdeen is approximately 35 miles away.
    We like good healthy food & try to grow some veg ourselves.
    John likes Motorbikes, Music, Keeping fit, Shooting, Fishing, Motorhomes, Travelling & Exploring, Languages, Poetry & Much More.
    Sharon likes Cooking, Travelling, Drawing, Painting & More.
    We have an outdoor cat called Yum-Yum, who is adorable & friendly.
    We have internet access.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    We are renovating & improving the Farmhouse/Buildings & Land.
    General Maintenance to Granite Buildings with slate roofs.
    Concreting new floors in the buildings
    Skimming & Painting Building Walls
    Organic Vegetable Growing for home use with a view to improving this line.
    Working in the woodland, maintenance & clearing
    Fence repairs, & Mechanical if possible but not essential.
    Website construction & Promotion of our farm & Business if possible.
    Planning of work area & storage improvement.
    Sorting of items for storage & Disposal


    A Good basic understanding of English IS Imperative for Communication purposes.
    Politeness, cleanliness, respect & Enthusiasm are Definitely required alongside constructive ideas & inputs.
    We are very open type of people & we like our workawayers to be of a similar ilk, fitting "in" with us in Family & work.
    We like to start the working day prompt at a negotiated set time between 7.30 & 8.30 so we can finish with enough time in the day for other options.
    We are Always Open to constructive, Positive ideas & conversation where we can learn & matters can be improved in All areas.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have facilities for anyone staying with us ;
    A Pleasant, nice & clean static caravan 32ft x 12ft, 2 Bedrooms, Bathroom, Kitchen, & Lounge/Diner.
    Heating, Shower, Cooking facilities, Kettle, toaster, Microwave, Fridge & Tv.
    Strictly No Pets In the caravan without Full Prior agreement & consent.

    Non Smoking Is imperative & removal of outside footwear in the caravan.
    Internet is available.
    We operate on a private septic tank system & organic basis & therefore we request the use of NO chemicals, cleaners & Bleaches etc. We Only use Biodegradable, Natural, Organic type cleaning agents.

    We do ask All Workawayers to Immediately inform us if they feel the caravan is Not up to the standards stated here,
    Or Not up to the standard they expect or feel comfortable with particularly any areas of concern with safety.

    When a Workawayer vacates the caravan & as part of the Workaway experience we Always ask & expect the Workawayer(s) to make quite sure the caravan & its facilities are left in the clean & tidy condition that will keep up the standard for the next incoming workawayer.

    Please Leave as you would hope & Expect to find.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are situated 35 miles North of Aberdeen, The Granite City, between the towns of Mintlaw & Fraserburgh 5 miles either way in the countryside with access by bus to local amenities on the main A952.
    Fraserburgh is a Fishing town, & 12 miles away is the Fishing town of Peterhead. There are many small fishing villages nearby, with a lovely sandy coastline,
    We are situated in a good area if you like history & Castles & not far from the
    Whisky Trail, which is generally a visitors attraction.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunites

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunites

    We welcome our Workawayers with a warm friendly family environment.
    We are pro active type people that address challenges with a positive & constructive attitude.

    Our local coastline with its small harbour fishing villages are particularly pretty & Quaint. The film Local Hero With actor Burt Lancaster in it, & Music by Mark Knopfler ( "Going Home" Theme Music ) with its Famous Phone box was part filmed in nearby Pennan.
    There are an abundance of castles & stately homes & houses within the area. Near Inverurie is "Bennachie" a well known local landmark hill (528 meters high) walk & visitor centre.

    We like organic foods & cooking & enjoying the benefits off what we work hard for.
    We have always been self employed & we feel we have a Wide range of experience & therefore could pass on
    a good deal of knowledge to those wishing to learn.

    We are very open minded, experienced in life & always looking to learn & expand Our knowledge from others, including learning new languages.

    To learn French & Spanish would be an exciting advantage.

    We are Non smokers.

    We like Poetry, Philosophy, Religions & different cultures, Music, Guitars, Drums, piano. Motorbikes ( Off road & On road ) Camping, Motorhoming, Walking, Clay Pigeon & Target Shooting, Boating, fishing, Exercising & Weights, Castles & Country houses. & Good Conversation.

    We try hard to help & assist anyone who is in genuine need.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    25 hours per week approximately


Photos

Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 863198182525

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts