Beautiful Hobby Farm Central Coast, Australia

updated
Country

Australia

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi ----- We are one hour and 45 min north from Sydney by train( cost $6.00 ) only -- We are located 8 min from the township of Wyong NSW
    We are a family of three , Husband Tom , Wife Ingrid and 9 yr old son Harry .
    We have a beautiful hobby farm backing onto a Forrest , We have a dog , cattle , chickens , alpaca. a couple of horses . and a kitten . also a peacock . You are welcome to spend your time off with playing , loving our animals .
    Any work aways looking for a farm stay ? , the work is pulling weeds in the paddock / Fields . I can supply some music to entertain you .and gloves for your hands and nails .
    Your accommodation will be in our lovely guest cottage ( Everyone has loved it so far)
    All meals will be supplied --We can't cater for dietary requirements.... sorry! .
    on example of Breakfast would be ,cereal ,oats , yogurt, toast and Jams . ( you can just help yourself to the pantry)
    Morning tea example -- chia seed bowl , or a smoothie , cake or cookies
    Lunch will be something like a sandwich , Wraps , toasted sandwich .
    Dinner is around 5;30 -6 pm a yummy home made meal , We would normally all sit down together to eat this meal and exchange life stories ,
    In your time off you can bush walk , brush horses , help feed the cattle . or meet and feed our friendly emus , play with kitten . On your days off you could take a one hour bus ride to The Entrance to the Beach .cafes, Pelican feeding . or take the train to Newcastle .
    If you like to fish our dam is a fun place to catch fresh water eels .
    If you are keen I can arrange for you to ride one of our horses in an enclosed area.
    we are too far to walk to town , We have a very limited bus service .
    on arrival i can collect you from the train station . and return you for your onward journey .
    Our farm has the normal Australian variety of insects , spiders , Rodents ,sorry we cant do much about it .
    No smoking please .
    very limited phone and internet almost non existent.
    interested in work aways that eat everything ! so no fussy eaters please .

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our Hobby farm is so beautiful and quite it is relaxing, the view and the serenity is outstanding . We are surrounded by bush and mountains so if bush walking is your thing we can point you in the correct direction .,
    you can also try Emu feeding .--- feeding our Cattle is a fun and interesting thing to do . We have push bikes that you are welcome to use .-- Groom the horses -We can organise a horse ride on our riding arena if you like on one of our quite horses. If you would like to spend time relaxing by the pool you are most welcome to do this . We can take you for a Quad Bike ride as well .You can try fishing in our Dam , Explore the creek , Rock climbing in the bush . If you would like to try Kayaking in the dam /pond you are welcome to try this .
    Sitting by the fire at night is a nice way to spend some time maybe roast a marshmallow or two !
    previous Work awayers have said just being on the farm experiencing the beauty , the animals and the stillness is exchange enough .
    .

  • Help

    Help

    Information regarding help that we need -- You may find this type of help a little hard & dirty , if you have never worked outside before or if you have never actually had some sort of job , For most people the work is manageable . The Help needed is pulling weeds out of the soil .My 80 year mother can do it ;-)
    The weeds are pulled by hand and placed in a large bag , i will supply gardening gloves , you will need closed in shoes , the grass will be wet so shoes will also get wet . You may also will be asked to help paint the fences in a black paint . you will get paint on your clothes , So old cheap clothes that can be thrown away is advised .The help required may change if it rains ,

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would stay by yourselves or with other work away travelers in our lovely 3 bedroom self contained guest cottage , This cottage is old , rustic and charming however it is clean and inviting . The Beds are comfortable and the Sheets and bedding are clean and crisp. You can wake up each morning to a wonderful view of the farm . The cottage has foxtell to watch movies etc .
    We will supply food for all meals , Breakfast you will prepare yourself , Lunch I will mostly prepare however if i'm time poor I will get you to prepare your own lunch . I will always make the evening meal for us all to sit down enjoy together .I just ask that after any meal you help clear and wash and dry dishes please .
    We will supply Towels for the bathroom as well as beach or pool towels .
    I will tell you when I'm washing clothes and I will wash yours as well .
    PLEASE NOTE internet is limited . phone coverage very patchy .
    After the evening meal and the kitchen is tidy . We ask that we have our privacy . You can retire to your cottage or go for a moonlight stroll ,do some star gazing on a clear night or sit by the fire or play board games that can be supplied.
    No smoking on the property/farm please .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    time off can be spent , walking in the forest , taking a stroll on our country lane , sitting by the stunning pool . feeding cattle , grooming horses , playing with the kitten , Bush walking , push bike riding , A horse ride . Feeding two friendly emus , Fishing for eels , A Quad bike ride. Bird watching , rock climbing .kayaking on the dam /pond .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week (25 hours per week)

Work is NOT with the horses . please read profile
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 833528522986