Are you a couple/two friends who would like a few days in the beautiful Scottish countryside and don't mind moving wood about?

updated
Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 180 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    16/10/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    499

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️*️️*️️STOP PRESS*️️*️️*️️

    We had a storm a couple of weeks ago which brought down lots of branches of trees, knocked over plants, etc. I need some help clearing up. It's a two person job because some things will need someone to hold each end, or hold something while the other one saws, or whatever. Most of it should just take a few days. So if you are in between trips, or just fancy a relaxing break in the lovely Scottish countryside, then this is the workaway for you!

    When not working you can do wholesome things like sit by the river and read books, go walking in the countryside, watch clouds, birds, etc. Or you could go next door and drink beer with their woofers (beer not supplied).

    *️️*️️*️️ENDS*️️*️️*️️

    *️️️️️️our previous profile continues below as I haven't got time to change everything now. Ross (my ex) is still around here a lot and part of our lives, and if you want to hang out with him making music then I'm sure that can still be arranged:-)*️️️️️️️

    We live right out in the country, in rural Galloway, Scotland. It's about three miles to the nearest village and four to the nearest pub. So it's pretty quiet!

    If you want some peace and quiet, with a bit of outdoors work (mainly gardening and permaculture) and plenty of time to explore a lovely part of Scotland, then this could be for you.

    It's absolutely gorgeous here and we are a mile from a scenic loch, with a sailing and activities centre.

    We are a friendly family, with a young son. We have beem hosting Workaway volunteers for about a year now, and we really love it. We've met some lovely, interesting people, learned a lot. For us, it's a bit like travelling, without going anywhere.

    We are a bit hippy and a bit lefty. I work in science education and my partner is a sound engineer. He's got a lot of musical instruments, I've got a lot of books. We come from Nottingham and Yorkshire originally, but we've also lived in Bristol and Edinburgh. Although we are right out in the country, our next-door neighbour's house is just 30 yards away and we hang out with them a lot. They have a converted mill (now generating hydropower) and are a permaculture land centre. They usually have a couple of volunteers staying, so it's surprisingly sociable here.

    We've got about an acre and a half of land - including a small wood and a river. We just moved here two years ago and we're trying to set up a bit of permaculture. But with jobs and a small child, there's lots of things we could do with a hand with.

    We have a pet cat. He doesn't need a lot of looking after (although he is friendly and likes to be stroked), but if you are allergic then maybe you would want to avoid us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    We are developing a food forest and various mixed beds of vegetables. We work and have a very demanding small child, so there are a million little things we could do with a hand with getting finished.

    The kind of things on our list to do at the minute: Building raised beds and another hugelbed, mulching, weeding, pruning, turning the compost heap, digging holes and planting stuff.

    We also want to build one (or more) sculptures of dinosaurs, because it would make our son incredibly happy. Maybe 2 metres high? He says we should have an allosaurus, a brachiosaurus and a compsognathus. Possibly a plesiosaur, but as they lived in the sea, I'm not sure how that would work. Anyone who thinks they could help us do that would be very welcome!

    I guess we'd also hope you'd take a turn cooking dinner or stacking the dishwasher, and help keep the shared living areas tidy(ish), as a family member would.

    We are happy to host families with small children. Our son is five and we have lots of toys, climbing frames, etc.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are just starting on our permaculture journey, so we can't promise to teach you much about that. But you can join in our experiments and learn along with us.

    Our next door neighbours are a permaculture land centre, so you can learn a lot from them. They usually have some volunteers staying too, so although it's out in the country, it's quite social, with different people coming and going.

    You can play music with my partner, hear traditional folktales of the area from me, learn a lot about dinosaurs from our son. We've both travelled quite a bit (both in the UK and around the world), and lived in various places in the UK. Happy to answer questions about places we've visited, put you in touch with friends in other cities, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French (High School level). A smattering of Turkish and Chinese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a caravan in the garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Gorgeous loch one mile away, with sailing, canoeing, fishing and climbing at the sailing and activity centre.

    Gentle walking country with lovely views. We are near the Galloway Dark Sky Park, so when the weather is clear you have a good view of the stars. Also, I think it's good for birdwatching - there are red kites nearby and we often see them flying over our garden. There's a red squirrel who visits our garden too.

    Galloway is a real undiscovered gem of Scotland, with lots of history - it was an independent kingdom until the 13th Century. There's lots of places to visit round about - stone circles, castles, gardens, beaches - but all spread out, this is a very sparsely populated region. You can even get the ferry to Belfast from the West coast (about an hour away).

    We don't have a vehicle you can use, but we can give you lifts within reason. We have bicycles you can borrow. You can get a bus from the end of the road (about a mile walk) to Castle Douglas (our nearest town).

    TO GET HERE: Nearest Train station is Dumfries (40 mins drive away). Nearest town is Castle Douglas. Nearest village is Balmaclellan. There are buses from Dumfries to Castle Douglas. We can pick you up from Dumfries or Castle Douglas, if you give us some notice. Nearest airport is Glasgow or Prestwick.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album
















Host ref number: 824993123172