Help us build our project and have a great experience in the sahara in Tagounite, Morocco

updated
Country

Morocco

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone,

    My name is Hamed and I am 32 years old, I am married and I have one daughter. My brother in law, Mohammad, is 35 years old. He is also married and has children. With our family we all live in a small village named Tagounite in the southern part of Morocco, 66km away from the city Zagora.

    Together we have a piece of land from our parents, where we used to grow our bio vegetables and fruit a long time ago. This was before the drought had hit the aria. Because of the drought we don't have enough water anymore, and growing the bio food has become a big problem.

    This year we decided to go back and to start working on it again. We have gotten a lot of new ideas.
    Because it is a big piece of land and there is not enough water, we decided to use just a small part of the land for the gardening. We will use another part to build some rooms where we can host people from all over the world. Everyone is welcome, we would love to meet people from all kinds of cultures and different backgrounds. In return we can show you our lifestyle and show them how we Berbers live.

    It will be great if you can come to help us! We will do our best to make everything as comfortable as possible for everyone so we can all experience a great time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is our pleasure to have you as a part of our project and we will be happy to to have you in our family.
    In the work we will show you our old and traditional ways to build rooms by a natural and simple way. Of course it will also be amazing to teach you how to cook some Moroccan dishes, some Arabic if you are interested and we would love to show you our market in Tagounite, which is twice a week.

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks could be all kinds of different tasks, varying day by day, like:
    - shopping food at the market
    - building different rooms in the house. We will build with mud bricks made of sand, straw and water
    - gardening. We need to plant new palm trees

    We will need help for planting new palm trees and making mud bricks so we can start building some of the rooms. Also we need some people to help us with installing the internet. And we would love it if there are some helpers who can help us in practicing languages to make it better.

    We are always thankful for anything you can help with.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Arabic, French, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    When you arrive in Tagounite by bus or taxi, you will find me waiting for you at the CTM busstation. There I will talk you to our house where you will stay with our family. We have two rooms which you can use and share with the other volunteers. You can use mattresses and blankets for sleeping. All the meals will take place together with my family and we will cook and eat together at the same place where we work.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you travel from Marrakech to Tagounite by the CTM bus:
    - leaves at 11 am, arrives around 9 pm in the evening.

    The night bus from Agadir to Tagounite:
    - leaves at 9 pm, arrives at 6 am in the morning.

    We work 3 hours every day and 5 days a week, we start around 8:30 am and we stop at 11:30 am. The rest of the day you have the day off, where we can take a walk to the palm trees or the maintain for the set, or maybe discover the village.
    At the restaurant/cafe you can also use WiFi.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 819572111756