Family help on the Costa Brava, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 87 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    15/11/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our house in Mont-ras, catalonia, is similar to a terraced house in the UK. There's quite a lot of work to do and with Alfonso, my husband, being mobility challenged, we sometimes require extra help. A friend deals with the garden and does the basics. So, we need someone to help in the house, to do a bit of cooking and to keep Alfonso company when I go out or take a break and go away for a few days. Alfonso speaks English, French and Italian besides spanish and Catalan. He is fun-loving and enjoys meeting new people. He loves music, philosophy and art.
    The area is very pleasant, just 4 kms inland from the prettiest landscapes on the Costa Brava and there are hills too where you can go hiking. Please bear in mind, however that this is not the sunny south and we do occasionally get cold, wet weather in winter.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    As from October the helpers' duties would consist in keeping Alfonso company during the afternoon and evening plus cooking some dinner. Alfonso appreciates company and is fun-loving and communicative. He often needs help with the computer/mobile and likes to practise his English and also French and Italian. He enjoys music a lot too. I may go away for a short break, no more than 2 or 3 days. We could negotiate that.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Alfonso used to work as a tourist guide and knows Catalonia very well. he loves to tell people about interesting places to visit, not only in Barcelona but in other areas too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Catalan, French, German (ein bisschen)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Apartment in the basement with bathroom, fridge and cooking facilities plus a lovely view of the garden. If this is not available, you will be upstairs with your own bathroom, study and terrace.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can visit Barcelona, Girona or the Dali museum in Figueres. You can go cycling, swimming, hiking etc. There is no train but the bus service (SARFA) is not bad and the station is very close to our house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Not more than 4 hours, 5 days a week but you might have to work on Saturdays.

My Photo Album









Host ref number: 817511813684