Green Oasis in Tulum - México

Favourited 289 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    19/07/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    We are creating a green oasis, growing fruit trees, palm trees, herbs and veggies in a permaculture way, inside a small city which is in fast development. Our spot is 2700m2.

    Some of the projects:
    Gardening
    Building
    Maintenance, renovation work
    Cleaning in and around the area and help cleaning in the house.

    The vision is offering a plant-based holistic space, where animals and humans are treated fairly with equal values.
    For nature lovers, animal lovers, health lovers,
    To provide different spaces for group or personal retreats, workshops, art exhibitions...

    We are a conscious living couple living a VEGAN and ZERO-WASTE lifestyle since many years and invite you to respect and live with us as a volunteer this kind of life during your stay. Also during your days off.
    This is an area where we neither allow to smoke tobacco nor drinking alcohol!
    Its a place where no animal products are allowed to be entered, neither as food nor as cosmetic products!
    The use of chemical products are not allowed to use, as our plants drink the used water!
    This means also that soap, toothpaste, shampoo you bring needs to be biodegradable. And the containers need to be recyclable or taken with you when it’s empty.

    Besides speaking Spanish very well, our second favourite language is German and then English, that's why we love to read and collect books in German. However we are open to other languages, as well as to collect books that you no longer use, as we have here a book exchange corner.

    We kindly ask our volunteers to not leave garbage in our space when leaving.
    All items need to be stored on shelves, as we have curious dogs.
    Each volunteer is responsible for their own safety. We are not responsible for accidents, robberies or diseases.

    *️️Check-in for volunteers is from 11am to 4pm (Monday to Wednesday)
    *️️Check-out for volunteers is from 9am to 11am (Wednesday to Friday)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for supportive, creative, conscious, good vibed people with proper initiatives and skills.
    It would be awesome if you bring with you some skills and experiences for the projects that we mentioned. (cementing, working with pallet wood for furnitures, electrical technician, plumbing, gardening,...)

    Volunteering works:
    Building raised beds for planting medicinal plants and veggies.
    Making soil by composting, sieve leavs and branches to get finer soil.
    Rainwater capturation with filter system.
    Irrigation system.
    Water plants if it doesn´t rain.
    Rebuilding a house in a most ecologic way for a multi useable space to make it more comfortable.
    Doing wooden furnitures (out of pallet wood).
    Electricians work.
    Manoeuvres with materials made for exterior maintenance, like varnish, paint, pvc glue, cement...
    Activities related to interfaces design, user experiences, programming or similars.


    Important note!
    - If you feel unwell or sick and cant provide the labor, you will have to leave the place or pay for the accomodation. Food will not be provided if labor can´t be given.
    We do not host people who:
    - Like the nightlife (partying)
    - For women: using tampons or other one-way intime products
    - Are not aware when shopping plastic packed products and taking "the for free" plastic bags.
    - Who are not willing to live plant based during their stay.
    Because if so, neither you nor we would feel comfortable...
    Thank you for your comprehension.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You get the chance to learn about healthy zero waste living, local healthy food and superfoods and local medical plants/ herbology.
    We speak Spanish, so you can practice your Spanish too.
    And it's a learning by doing while gardening, building respecting nature and collaborating.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, German, English, (a little bit French)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is enough place in case you want to sleep outdoor, so if you have your own tent and/or hammock that would be perfect.
    Depending on availability, we have a palapa (open room with palm roof) to hang your own hammock or to place a mattress on the floor, which is concrete, all with one shared bathroom and shower... We can provide mosquito net if you don't have one.

    Depending of our activities, it can also happen that we will provide food for the whole day and you prepare your meals by yourself. In case we have lots of time available, we provide some meals for you from Monday to Friday. Dinner you prepare mostly for your self and depending on your efficiency, we give you the ingredients. On weekend is free time for everybody. So we do not provide food on Saturday and Sunday.

    There is a community kitchen which you can use during your stay. It is in your responsibility to keep it always clean and cleaned up properly. Sometimes we give cooking workshops and other therapies. During that time, the comunity space is not available.
    If dishes break, please let us know and we ask kindly to replace them.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off or weekend you can discover the beaches, cenotes, downtown, lagoons and ruins by renting a bike or taking taxi and colectivos. Hitch-hiking is also quite common in this area.
    We are walking distance from down town, 6km from the beach, 3 km from a few cenotes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album








Host ref number: 816541164277