Come help with our dogs, vegetable gardens and projects while experiencing Australia- near Sydney




Favourited 1002 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We live near Sydney, on a 40 acre property surrounded by kangaroos, wombats and nature. We have been Workaway Hosts for many years, and enjoy hosting people from various countries.

    We are a couple in our 30's who work from home with our dog family. James loves cooking, playing tennis, being active and socialising. While Lauren enjoys reading, travelling, watching documentaries, and her passion is breeding dogs (Finnish Lapphunds).

    We enjoy meeting people travelling from other countries, and love the cultural exchange.

    We're happy to pick you up from the local train station (10 minutes away), and drop you off upon departure. It's very easy to get to us by train from Sydney. There's plenty of space for parking if you have your own car or van.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a wonderful experience for someone who loves nature, veggie gardens and dogs.

    We do chat to Workawayers, but we are not a host that spends lots of time with you. Sometimes we won't see you for days. So we also suit people who enjoy their own space and privacy.

    If you'd like to learn about training dogs and raising puppies, you can assist with these projects.

    The local area has many wonderful things to explore, including natural swimming holes, a dingo sanctuary, wineries, cafes, hikes.

  • Help


    The help we require includes:

    Dog tasks:
    - Cleaning
    - Brushing
    - Assisting with puppies

    - Tending to vegetable garden
    - Mowing lawn
    - Weeding
    - General gardening

    - Sweeping and mopping floor
    - Washing and ironing clothes and linen
    - General cleaning

    TASKS: We discuss which areas you have experience in or are interested in learning and helping with.

    We do 5 days on, 2 days off. Each of the 'work' days is for 5 hours, generally starting at 8am or 9am.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Our beautiful property is on 40 acres, surrounded by beautiful Australian bushland in a private oasis. Seperate from the main house, is a 3 bedroom cottage which will be your home. The cottage features three seperate bedrooms, fully furnished, a spacious kitchen, bathroom with shower and bath, laundry and living/lounge area.

    The cottage has all of the comforts of home, including:
    - Washing machine
    - Fridge
    - Cooking equipment and oven
    - Microwave
    - Large screen TV
    - Netflix
    - Internet
    - Apple Mac desktop computer
    - One room has a queen sized bed, the other two single beds
    - All furniture
    - Towels, sheets, blankets
    - Fireplace

    You'll have privacy from us in your cottage. The cottage is 200 metres from the main house, with its own yard and gardens.

    The property features a pool, spa and tennis court as well as beautiful grassed areas for lazing, picnics or cuddles with our dogs. We have a vegetable garden with fresh fruits and vegetables which you can freely access.

    You'll also have:
    - Free use of a great little Honda Civic, to drive locally so you can get to the train station and go out and do fun local things on days off. You'll just need to cover the cost for petrol. We pay for insurance.
    - Use of push bikes
    - Use of a 2 person kayak
    - All food- we eat a lot of fresh fruit and vegetables and very little processed foods.

    You'll see local kangaroos hop through our property daily. And an abundance of birds and other wildlife.

    Our property receives fine mobile phone reception.
    Vegetarians and vegans welcome.
    No smoking please.
    We generally have 4 Workawayers at any given time. Either two couples/friends, or a couple and a single traveller.

    You could never get bored here. There are great walking trails, shopping centres are 10 minutes away as is the train station so it's easy to get into Sydney. Sydney is an amazing city, it’s so beautiful and there’s so much to see and do. The beach is an hour away from our place.
    Many of our Workawayers save up their days off and go away for 4 days in a row to places like the Blue Mountains, Hunter Valley, Canberra and even New Zealand! It’s easy to be based at our place and feel like you’re right in the middle of the Australian bush, but still get to see a huge amount of Australia as we are so close to Sydney and public transport.

    Attractions nearby:
    Mermaid Pools - 20 minutes
    Thirlmere Rail Museum - 10 minutes
    Wirrimbirra Wildlife Sanctuary - 12 minutes
    Bargo Dingo sanctuary - 12 minutes
    Tahmoor train station - 10 minutes

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The main village of Tahmoor is 10 minutes by car or 27 minutes by bike. Tahmoor has supermarkets, alcohol shops, pizza and chicken shops, cafes, restaurants etc.

    Attractions nearby:
    Mermaid Pools - 20 minutes
    Thirlmere Rail Museum - 10 minutes
    Wirrimbirra Wildlife Sanctuary - 12 minutes
    Bargo Dingo sanctuary - 12 minutes
    Tahmoor train station - 10 minutes

    More information on the area search for 'southern highlands NSW' and 'Visit Wollongong'

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours / week

Host ref number: 785927147865