Help out around our beautiful developing permaculture farm in British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A professional family of four living on 7 acres near the city limits of Nanaimo working to convert the once horse farm to provide food for ourselves and others who support our farm. My wife works for the power utility and I work as a science Teacher (on call this year) and an ice sculptor and some part-time math tutoring. Our girls are active and creative taking music lessons and horseback riding lessons.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My wife and I are well traveled and enjoy sharing our love of travel and meeting new people. The thought of sharing our space with some fellow travelers is exciting. The chance to have help on our beautiful developing permaculture farm is a wonderful way to get to know people on a more personal level. We enjoy playing games and going on adventures. We don't watch much TV but don't mind some relaxing time with the family playing games or watching a movie.

  • Help

    Help

    Many projects are underway including beekeeping (expanding all the time), chickens (for meat and eggs), Geese (to protect the chickens), Sheep (not for wool), Pigs (although we are planning on taking a break while we improve their area for drainage). Some fence repair is needed. Plan on installing deer fence around gardens and setting up electric fence system in the pasture to run the animals on a rotational basis. Orchards are being planted regularily with plans on planting amongst the trees next spring to further improve the soils and moisture. Other project are building terraces and ponds and water catchment systems around the farm to help retain more moisture for our dry summers. The barn is being repaired and improved - not sure if it will be painted this fall as we are running out of time. The garden is being planted with garlic for next year in October. The girls are in a french immersion school and like meeting new people. Other possible but low priority projects could be building a brick pizza oven, installing solar panels on the house/barn, and setting up and improving a rain harvesting system for the barns. I could also build some bunk beds in the barn to help offer lodging to more folk as the interest seems high.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Some French and Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It is cottage very near our house that is in the shape of a hexagon. It is a neat building approx 300 sq ft. There is a bathroom in the barn ( but no shower there yet) and also a separate bathroom/shower in the house about equal distance walk to either bathroom. The house is recently fully renovated rancher with nice open spaces and even a covered back patio. There is also a large private meeting room in the barn that is liveable (we lived there while we renovated the house for three months). This could be a private area to hang out, play games or socialize by the fire pit.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are less than a Km from the city amenities such as shopping, yoga, coffee shops, indoor rock climbing gym and bowling. The city is a major hub on the island with quick access to the Vancouver area with a ferry, or planes. Depending on the time of year there are plenty of outdoor activities to do such as skiing, hiking, boating, and mountain biking. We have an almost full grown puppy (poodle/pointer cross) who is in obedience training but gets excited with strangers so we have to put her into her side yard sometimes. We have a pottery wheel and small kiln that my mom gave me and would love to get figured out as we have time to do so.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 781689149518