Assisting a family with disabilities on a small homestead in Savannah, USA

updated
Country

United States

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help a family with disabilities to maintain a 5 acre homestead in Savannah, GA and improve a tiny farm on a bridgeless Island.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Anytime two strangers interact, there is an opportunity for cultural exchange. Here in Savannah we provide history and culture of the English and Spanish settlement of SE coastal USA, and Georgia's pirate past. We also offer hands on experience in the US efforts to develop sustainable agriculture and living. We will tell you stories of our travels and lives and hope you will do the same. My husband is diagnosed with Aspergers Syndrome and has a progressive neurological disorder and hearing loss, so we do things quite differently here. I am happy to answer questions about how different and difficult it is to live in this way.

  • Help

    Help

    There is a wide choice of help you can provide dependent on the weather, the season, your interests and your skills. Since we are looking for summer help, I will tell you about my summer schedule, which I would ask you to be involved in. Currently all my beds at the Savannah homestead are full with housemates, but this summer everyone is graduating school or retiring from work, and the house should empty out.

    Summer is a busy time here. Last summer I gardened for two hours in the morning until the heat drove me indoors, where I washed, sorted, and bagged, or hung to dry all the food I harvested, This year I filled both my freezers and then learned to can. When I did not have time for that, I took my excess to two charities that provide food for addicts in recovery, and who provide fresh foods in food desert neighborhoods. This week I sat by our kitchen fire place after I took down the herbs I hung during harvest and stripped the branches of herbs in order to package and shelf the leaves. We are also eating our way through the freezers of food and the pantry full of jars I filled. It is so satisfying a way to live.

    On my two days off each week, I take a boat out to the tiny farm I bought this summer on a bridgeless Island. The commute is an hour on the intracoastal waterway where dolphins play and eagles soar and ospreys fish. On the island I volunteer for the community farm and help care for an 80 year old adopted mom, who is responding to a health crisis with a change to a vegan diet.

    The beach on my little island is one of my favorite spots. I also enjoy mushroom hunting after prolonged rains. I picked and processed a lions mane as big as my head last week. Lions mane is a useful food for people with neurological issues which both my husband and I live with.

    We have hired a landscape architect to do a sustainable design for our five acres, and a local architect to design our new heated water therapy room. The design phase has begun, and we may be in the construction phase of the water therapy house by the time summer arrives. It has been a slow process of transforming our home into something sustainable and self supporting.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our Savannah home has several bedrooms and bathrooms which we may ask you to share with other guests. Our tiny farm has tiny buildings and one converted travel trailer and a humanure toilet system and an outdoor shower.

    We do not host people who use tobacco products of any kind and who consume excessive amounts of alcohol. Absolutely no illegal activity, such as marijuana possession, cell phone use while driving, drinking and driving, child porn.

    We are early to bed, early to rise, so you will also need to do the same.

    It is a rare pet owner who fits in here. It has been done successfully, but it has also been a disaster, with trusted family pets rushing the door to chase my cats, or pulling free of a leash to maul my chickens.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Savannah is a city rich in history and the arts. Our downtown historic district draws 13 plus million visitors a year. Twice a week I boat out to an Island that is home to an ancient Gullah community. Personally I grow heritage breed animals and plants. In your free time there are beaches, running and boating trails, hiking through state parks, fishing, bicycling, libraries, museums, tours, the list is almost endless.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    It varies, but no more than 5 hours per day.

We use black soldier fly larva and red wriggler worms to process our kitchen waste, and to produce compost tea which we feed to our kitchen garden.
volunteering with my houseguests at the Daufuskie Island Community Farm and Artisan village.
My tiny half acre farm with a collection of tiny buildings, two living houses, one living trailer, one workshop and one storage building, a grape arbor, and lemon, fig, loquat, plum trees and berry bushes.
We live in a clean house. there is no maid, so everyone cleans up after themselves AND each other.
We have numerous spacious comfortable private guest rooms.
The guest rooms all have private living areas.
There are three bedrooms upstairs to chose from. This bed is a $9K adjustable sleep number type bed with height adjustments for feet and head. The room has no exterior windows, creating a dark, quiet space for sleeping.
This queen bed has adjustable foot and head settings.
Our experimental kitchen garden with raised beds using hugelkultur, companion planting, BSFL, no pesticide, no commercial fertilizer, produces more food than we can eat or give away.
My heritage breed chickens free range during the day and are locked up safely at night. We hatch them and/or raise them from chicks. they provide us with eggs, meat, feathers for art projects, and endless hours of entertainment.
The beach on Daufuskie Island is pristine and private. I rarely see anyone using it.
This winter I enjoy sitting by the kitchen fire to process the herbs I planted this spring, nurtured all summer, harvested in the Fall to hang from my kitchen rafters.
Best friends and partners for over 20 years.
Our house sits 200 yards in from a busy Savannah road that quickly takes us to hospitals, retail outlets, museums, and our boat docked on the Intracoastal Waterway.






Host ref number: 768247124628