Small holding West Wales looking for enthusiastic helpers

updated
Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 620 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    77  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    01/11/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Exciting project, former intensive, run down dairy farm, now in conversion to a 28 acre, organic, family run small farm, and holiday cottage business. We have a large veg patch, polytunnel, an orchard and have recently planted woodland. Our aim is to be self sufficient for meat (so we keep some animals), veg, fruit and fuel. We are mainly looking for help restoring historic old stone barns, help on the veg patch and around the farm.

    Situated in a beautiful, quiet, rural location with great walking, short drive from town/coast. Please note that public transport is limited and infrequent.

    We home educate our 4 children; and while we're aiming to be 'self sufficient', we are a busy family, we work extremely hard -get up early and go to bed early, but we are a warm and friendly bunch who like to have fun too - camp fire cooking, singing and playing card or word games, and watching films are our style.

    We're looking for ENTHUSIASTIC, outgoing, energetic, polite helpers to come and join in and participate with our family 'good life'. If you are happy, independent , dynamic, keen to help, learn and share we'd be delighted to meet you.
    If you are shy or very introverted and quiet or lack self motivation we'd rather you apply to another host.

    NO SMOKERS thank you! We generally only have volunteers for a maximum of 2 weeks at a time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with many aspects of modern and traditional building, carpentry, planting, weeding and much more! It's mostly physically demanding, please only apply if you are prepared for this.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Happy to help with teaching you English and building/farming skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in our house in a downstairs room with underfloor heating, en suite shower and toilet. During the day this space is used by the family, but during the evenings it will be for your private use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Happy to pick up volunteers from nearby train and bus stations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week

My Photo Album










































Host ref number: 748891162299