Help with our Eco Project in Iluman at the foot of the volcano Imbabura

Favourited 310 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    09/07/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1686

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Jose Cajas I live with my family in Iluman at the foot of the volcano Imbabura, Otavalo. It is an indigenous villiage. I have five children and pets such as dogs and cats. We also have chickens, cows and guinea pigs which are used for food. We live in harmony with nature, and cultivate ancestoral crops such as maize, beans, etc. and ovillas.

    I am currently building a cabin on my land. We are building the cabin out of natural and locally sourced materials. There are no other cabins in this region now, so it is a great opportunity to live with an Indigenous family and understand more of our culture and way of life

    We can also show you the route to the local volcanos, lakes and the Plaza de Ponchos in Otavalo if you wish.

    We really want to share our culture and also learn about the diverse cultures from other countries.

    Yo me llamo Jose Cajas vivimos en familia en Iluman en las faldas del volcán Imbabura Otavalo. Es un pueblo de raza indígena. Tengo cinco hijos y también de mascotas como perros, gatos , también pollos,vacas y cuyes que es utilizado para la alimentación. Vivimos con la armonía de la naturaleza cultivamos los productos ancestrales como maíz, habas, ovillas etc.

    Ahora tengo un proyecto de construcción de una cabaña en mi tierra. Construimos la cabaña de materiales naturales y locales. No hay cabañas en esta región ahora, pues es una gran oportunidad para vivir juntos con mi familia indígena y entender mas de nuestra cultura y ayudarnos con la constricción.

    Tambien podemos mostrar la ruta al volcan y conocer los lagos y la plaza de ponchos si quieren


    Nos gusta mucho compartir nuestra cultura y a la vez entender otras culturas de otros países.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with wood construction, placing stones for paths, painting, or any other way in which you can help. You do not need qualifications or specific skills though, any aid will help us a lot. We do need help with the construction, but more than this, we want to talk to you, and learn from you.


    Necesitamos ayuda con construcción con madera, trabajo con piedras, pintar, o con cual quier profesión. No necesita tener cualificaciones, cual quier ayuda nos va a ayudar mucho. Es cierto que necesitamos ayuda con la construcción, pero nos quiere mucho hablar y pasar tiempo con ustedes.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Espanol. Kichwa

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room in the cottage.
    We have a kitchen where you can cook and we really want to share recipes.

    Un cuarto en la cabaña.
    Tenemos una cocina donde pueden cocinar y queremos compartir recetas.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The perfect location from which you can take trips to Cotacachi, Imbabura, Otavalo Market, Lago San Pablo and Lago Cuicocha. It is a great opportunity to live like the locals. We are only 2 hours from Quito.

    Also, we can pick you up from Otovalo and bring you to our cottage.

    Everything will be free because your support is enough. You just need to provide your own food.



    Un gran lugar donde pueda hacer excursiones a Cotacachi, Imbabura, el mercado de Otavalo, Lago San Pablo, y Lago Cuicocha. Tambien estas en un pueblo Indigenas, pueda vivir como los vecinos. Estamos 2 horas de Quito.

    Tambien, podemos recogerlos de Otovalo y traerlos a nuestro campo

    Todo estara gratis porque su ayuda es bastante. Solo necesitan traer su comida.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 horas /5 días a la semana

Nuestro Campo

































Host ref number: 748665891466