Demi-Pair in Melbourne Australia. Come and enjoy the sunshine!

Country

Australia

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    69.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are a family of 4 living in the Northern Melbourne suburbs. We are looking for people to come and help us manage the day to day running of the house and assist with childcare. It would be ideal if you speak French. The Kids are a bit obsessed with Paris, they have visited twice, and we would love them to learn the French fluently. They have done a few years of French lessons but as Jason and I dont speak the language they are unable to practice with us.

    Jason (Dad) works 6am to 6pm Monday to Friday. Erin (Mum) works evenings and sleeps a little late in the morning. The Kids (7 and 9) are home schooled during the day and do numerous sports and music lessons in the evenings. We have 2 cats and 2 dogs to complete the family. We also have adult children, 20 and 22, who have moved out of home but may be here from time to time.

    We love travelling and usually go overseas once or twice a year as well as a couple of trips within Australia. We enjoy meeting interesting people from around the world. We incorporate travel as a big part of our homeschooling lifestyle and we are always planning out next adventure.

    We live in the northern suburbs of Melbourne. It is an easy walk to the tram (no 86) line and then just over 1 hour into the centre of the city. There is shopping within 1km of our house and have easy access to trains, busses and trams. We love living in Melbourne and try to go out and explore as much as we can. Our weekends are usually spent at zoos, museums, festivals, restaurants, with friends and family and during winter we are often at kids sporting events.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being part of our family for a time, we will build a relationship and share our culture and lifestyle with you. We hope that you will share/teach us also. How much you benefit is really up to you. Bring a good attitude and be flexible!

    We are an active family and you are welcome to join us on our adventures. As homeschoolers we are very active in our community. Mondays during the school term we spend at our homeschool co op. The children have various sports and music lessons. We are often out and about with our friends and on educational excursions. Sunday is our Family Day and we explore Melbourne and surrounds or visit with friends and family. You are welcome to join us as much as you like.

    Live on Melbourne's doorstep and explore! Melbourne is a fascinating mix of food, coffee, sport and arts. Melbourne is one of the few places in Australia where you are 3 hours from the snow and less than 1 hour from a beautiful beach.

    Melbourne is the most vibrant city in Australia. Public transport runs all night Friday and Saturday.

    Come and practice your conversational English skills and experience Australian culture while sharing your language and culture with us.

    This position is available from late February 2019. This is the very end of the Melbourne summer with glorious autumn weather stretching until May. In late May / early June the mountains (about 90 minutes away) will be experiencing the first snowfalls. Melbourne has mercurial weather so please be prepared for 4 seasons in a day.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a Demi-Pair to help with light housework and childcare for 3.5 hours per day/5 days a week.

    Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday/ Friday mornings from 7am to 10:30am.

    This is NOT a paid position. You will help us for 17.5 hours a week in exchange for a room and meals.

    Duties will include guiding the children through their morning routines, some light housework and getting the children outside to play and be active.

    A couple are expected to contribute for 17.5 hours each person. We will do the best to synchronise these hours to maximise your free time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation is a private bedroom with a queen sized bed and plenty of storage. This is suitable for 1 or 2 people willing to share a bed.

    All sheets, towels, pillows, blankets are included however you will be doing all of your own washing/laundry.

    You'll be welcomed into the family. As part of the family we will expect some light help/cleaning up-- just general helpfulness and participation with things like clearing the table, packing the dishwasher after meals etc -- in addition to your time volunteering.

    We do not accept any smokers, period. Also, no marijuana or other illegal substances, no e-cigarettes, either. With kids around we want to keep the "family " atmosphere.

    Unlimited internet and netflix. (Australian internet is slow when compared to some other countries).

    You will be sharing the bathroom with guests and occasionally the children.

    Food
    We will share our meals with you (healthy, we eat meat so probably not suitable for vegetarians) . We also have room in the fridge and pantry if you want to keep some of your own food. Most breakfasts and lunches will be "serve-yourself" but most dinners will be together with us. In your introduction please tell us your favourite food so we know you've read this. :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...







  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3.5 hours a day / 5 days a week





Host ref number: 746282333683