Help with a variety of tasks on our organic farm near Union, Maine, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    17/09/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm is nestled on 11 acres of mainly forested land in rural, artistic Midcoast Maine (a 20 minute scenic drive from the coast). We are passionate about chemical-free bees, poultry, hops, medicinal herbs, mushrooms and perennial pollinator gardens. I currently host guests and offer Reiki and Herbal Medicine at our farm store and at the Farmer’s Market. My approach to farming is that it is a sacred practice. I have two curious daughters ages 3 and 5. We are located across the street from the local swimming hole, so why not jump in on a hot day after working on the farm? Maine offers so much natural beauty to explore.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    Helpers can expect to tend to the birds, bees, gardens, guest rooms, carpentry projects and general maintenance and landscape. There are plenty of projects on the farm and I like to pair projects with the interests and skills of helpers when possible.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I learn as much from others as they learn from me. Here, we like to live close to the land and eat fresh, organic food. Farming is about community and a joyful, hardworking lifestyle. It is healing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Current accommodations include a room in the farmhouse, a traditional tipi in the meadow, tent camping, rustic barn space. A separate barn studio living space is being constructed this year with entirely re-purposed materials. My diet is gluten free, but we can accommodate the dietary needs of any guest.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a short drive from the coast. I highly recommend taking time off to explore the waterways and all of the beauty that Maine has to offer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 734742699665