Looking for volunteers to help us with our veg patch, land and home in SW England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 254 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/04/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    AVAILABILITY: MAY/ JUNE/ JULY AUGUST /SEPTEMBER

    Help needed with daily chores (chickens, dog, veg patch, gardening, weeding, cooking, cleaning, etc) on our smallholding.

    Hello! We are small family living in a beautiful rural spot in Dorset.

    We have a bit of land which we farm organically and produce a few vegetables for our own consumption (green beans, carrots, salads, peppers, etc) as well as some fruit (mostly berries and apples - mostly for juice). We enjoy working in the garden and veg patch, cooking, being outdoors, going to the beach, Yoga, and family time. We are very near the beach so we often go down for a walk with the dog, a swim or paddle boarding or just to meet friends with a BBQ.

    This is the ideal place if you are interested in horticulture, if you love being in nature and like to visit local sites and towns. We are near the Jurassic Coast for beautiful walks or bike rides, uncovering fossils or swimming.

    We both work and have two small children so time is always at a premium!

    This is why we are looking for someone who has initiative and a positive attitude to help us with outdoor chores: preparing the ground, planting, maintaining the allotment in good productive order, watering, weeding, harvesting, maintaining/ repairing the outbuildings, weeding the paths, making wood, cleaning the chicken coop, feeding the chickens, cutting hedges, little diy (not necessarily)... Occasionally, if we are out for the day, we might need help with walking the dog.
    Help indoor involves the usual daily chores - cleaning, tidying up, etc... and we always love it when volunteers cook a wholesome yummy meal for us all to enjoy.

    You will have lots of free time for walks, reading, etc. Or to travel to nearby places to visit.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about horticulture or practice your horticultural skills. Immerse yourself in the quietness and peacefulness of nature around. Explore the beautiful area where we live. Learn English. Go to the beach. And be part of a crazy family!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who has an interest and curiosity in gardening and horticulture and can help us with tending to our little bit of land where we grow vegetables, berries and apples. This might involve weeding, tidying up, planting, transplanting, cutting, making wood, clearing up, harvesting, etc... We also need help with keeping the house clean and tidy (it is a big house, so there is always something to do). Plus it is always nice when visitors cook a lovely meal maybe typical of where they come from!
    Please note that we need someone with initiative and confidence to work independently given a list of chores to do, or who can spot what needs doing and go ahead and do it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the summer months (May - September) you will be in large but basic bell tent with a double bed inside, a woodburner for chilly nights, a rug, a table and a couple of chairs. It is situated in a small field by the house so you are immersed in nature and have lots of privacy. You can also cook on an open fire - tea and simple meals (or you can use our big kitchen inside the house). It is quite a romantic spot! You have to come into the house for toilet and shower.
    We have a friend who lives off grid in the field next door in a 1950s wagon.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a rural spot so you can go for walks, bike rides, read, travel to nearby towns... You can go to the beach for water sports or just to hang out. We offer bikes and can give you rides to the nearest station when needed. We live a simple life, no parties, no discos. We like to be in nature (beach, walk the dog, etc).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Host ref number: 716935239513