Create a permaculture garden - Pick up healthy cooking knowledge on one of the nicest Canary Islands, Spain

updated
Country

Spain

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Baptiste. I am French with both Polish & Italian roots and living on Gran Canaria since almost 5 years.
    A Farm has adopted me at the beginning of the year 2019.

    The Farm (Finca in Spanish) is situated on the territory of Santa Maria de Guía, Camino de las Boticarias 56. It is in the north part of Gran Canaria Island, surrounded by luxurious vegetation.

    I would like to develop an organic and happy eco-project around this fantastic and peaceful place, as well as dedicating the caves to hosting travelers.

    I have got two kids, A little girl named Anaïs (6) and a boy called Izan (4). Anaïs is living in France. Due to my good relationship with her mother, she is happily coming often to Gran Canaria...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I could share all my knowledge about vegetarian, vegan, gluten free, Raw, Ayurvedic cooking, etc... I love sharing what I learned about fermented foods... And lately about baking bread...

    You could learn how to make a very simple and tasty gluten free bread...

  • Help

    Help

    The Finca has a yard about 300 square meters, and many other little spaces where to grow herbs and tinctorials... These past weeks, I have been creating little terraces to plant in an easier way. There is still lots to do ( carrying stones and sand ) before planting ! This is one of the missions...

    On an other hand, reforming the caves took me longer than I thought, and this is another point on which I would need help. Specially if you have a knowledge in eco construction...


    For summer, from the 24/07 to the 20 of August, I would need a help for taking care of big 6 years old daughter.


    Working hours are flexible, we just have to coordinate...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, Polish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The Farm is composed of a House and five caves. two of them are almost finished. A third one will be for the helper(s). Living in a cave is very confortable, There is a quite constant temperature of 16/18°C all year long inside the cave.
    The room is a 20m² cave with a double bed and a single one. Bathroom is a shared one.
    You can have WiFi in the room...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Finca is located about 35 minutes away by car from the Capital Las Palmas de Gran Canaria ( It takes less than 1hour from the Airport).

    By bus, from the central station at San Telmo Park, It will take you 1h30 to reach my place ( bus n°105 to Gáldar and then n°106 to Hoya de Pineda).

    There are many beaches you can get to on the north coast. The closest will be Agaete ( 15min by car) or El Agujero (20min by car).

    At about 25 minutes by car from the Finca, in a spectacular lunar landscape, you will find a light house, and more natural pools around.

    As the Finca is in the middle of nature, overlooking a ravine (barranco), You will find lots of trekking routes to discover as well as old Canarian houses on the way, a dam, a cheese factory, and much more...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Izan (4) my son... And me
Anaïs, my daughter...
Entrance of the cave rooms


Host ref number: 716899384364