Join us to rebuild a trimaran sailboat from the '70s, here in the beautiful Mexican Caribe, Chetumal, Quintana Roo, México

updated
Country

Mexico

Favourited 151 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    19/11/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1300

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Are you passionate about sailing boats? Would you like to live a unique experience and sail the Caribbean Sea in an eco-friendly way? Then join our group to rebuild a 70s Trimaran with your own hands! My name is Ricardo, I'm Mexican and here in Chetumal I found my home, my paradise. Since I was a child my passion has always been the sea and I think the best way to experience it is with respect for the nature that surrounds us…. so I chose the sailboat as a means to move and as my lifestyle. My dream is to explore the Caribe right from its best side, the sea, sharing this experience with people like me who love freedom and adventure. I am an engineer and I am passionate in recovering old and abandoned things: old things have a soul and a story to tell, I like the idea of bringing them back to life so that they can still tell us and teach us something. So the idea was born to refurbishing the Triton, an old abandoned trimaran, once used along the coast between Mexico and Belize for passenger transport and as houseboat, which will soon return to sail these crystalline waters thanks to your help too. I am looking for people who share my same passions and who are interested in participating in a challenging but stimulating project with the opportunity to know an authentic corner of Mexico far from the mass tourism. Minimum availability of 1 week, we offer brekfast and accommodation.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    What we expect from our volunteers is that they are responsible and respectful of our place; our volunteers should be open to work in an international team with the support and supervision of an expert foreman and to share with us their opinion and new ideas. We provide with food (1 main meal a day during the working days) and accommodation in a private house. The work is reconstructing a sailing vessel that I am working on, sanding, cutting, painting, moving, woodworking ...

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The work is during the week and if we work well, we can organize a sailing trip at the weekend where you will visit a beutifull tower in the middle of the lagoon, learn to sail, visit virgin islands...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    spanish english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide with 2 room with privet bathroom, with single bed in a private house located at 1,5 km from workplace. We provide with food: 2 meals a day during the working days. I will come to pick you up at the bus station. We can offer the opportunity to join us as part of the crew in sailing tours and lear how to sail.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Chetumal is the capital city of Quintana Roo , you will enjoy this beautiful piece of México! We have many local sites to see and activities to do. Visit Mayan Ruins only few kilometers far from town, explore wild rainforest and blue lagoons, experience local Mexican and Caribbean food and discover the Manatee Sanctuary here in the Chetumal Bay. You will enjoy the beautiful “malecón” along the Boulevard Bahía where you can spend your free time walking, jogging or simply relaxing whatching the sunset until…… the night comes and you will have great fun with its buzzing nightlife, restaurants, bars and discos all in one place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album








Host ref number: 716543744344