experience life in the pretty rural south east of England, picking cobnuts in the heart of Kent

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Gilly Jones and I have an orchard of 1300 Kent cobnut trees. Cobnuts are a cultivated variety of hazel nuts and in Kent we call such an orchard a 'cobnut plat'. The nuts ripen in early September and we pick them by hand. We need a lot of pickers!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience life in the rural south east which is a very pretty part of England. Although we are only 35 minutes by train from London, here you are in the heart of the countryside but you can also get to the big city and experience the contrast and all it has to offer. In addition, as a former teacher of English as a foreign language, if you are a learner of English I can probably give you some help! I speak several foreign languages and love meeting people from all around the world.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with picking and sorting the cobnut crop and packing it into nets or crates for transportation to my buyers. This would be from about 7 September 2017 for up to ten days.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, Spanish, a little German, Portuguese and Farsi.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    This is the challenge: you could be sleeping in tents as I can only accommodate three helpers in the house. Please let me know which you prefer - house or tent - when you contact me and I will see what I can do.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off there are places of interest and historic houses to visit. My 'plat' is part of the estate belonging to the National Trust and their house, Ightham Mote is a fascinating mixture of styles from medieval to 19th century which you MUST go and see (you can look it up on the web). Also you can take the train to London on a day off: I will provide transport to the train station. Last year I had two students, two girls from Malaysia who stayed with me and helped with the harvest. They were great and thoroughly enjoyed both the work and the cultural experience. they fitted in with my household routine and helped me prepare meals and packed lunches. that's what I would expect you to do if you sign up with me for the 2017 harvest.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 697653899779