Ayuda a una pareja con el jardín, labores diarias al sur de Italia

Favourited 471 times

updated

  • rating

    Evaluación de anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    54  

  • last activity

    Ultima actividad

    16/08/2017

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos de Facebook.

    188

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

      2 dias

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Descripción

    Descripción

    AVAILABILITY UPDATE: Currently accepting volunteers for 2018. Please check with us for up todate availability.

    We have a large plot of land and welcome volunteers several months of the year to help with the upkeep and ongoing projects we have.

    We are a friendly, married, young at heart couple who have built our own luxury Masseria in southern Italy where Rick is enjoying early retirement and Est works from home. We are by no means in the slippers brigade and are a lively couple who don't take life too seriously. We chose this part of the world because of our love of real Italian culture, food and wine. Life can't get any better than down in the south where we experience 'real' Italy every single day that we are here. Everything from the slow pace of life to discovering living life as it was decades ago. We love our food and grow much of our own produce from which Rick (the chef of the two of us), creates wonderful meals. We have two cats and 1 small rescue dog so you should be avid animal lovers as the pets are our family. Bimba the dog loves nothing more than helping out in the garden and adores company.

    We are situated in a beautiful, rural location, with the house sitting on its own 9 acre hill with the most amazing 360 degree views across rolling countryside. The nearest city is Matera, which is famous for being the film location for Mel Gibsons Passion of the Christ. Matera became nominated as a Unesco World Heritage site in 1993 and is a 15 minute drive away. It's a bustling city with lots of bars, restaurants, coffee shops anof course great shopping. Matera consists of the old town known as the Sassi where people have dwelled in caves for 9000 years. It's worth visiting and we will happily show you around or let you explore at your leisure. It's an amazing place particularly if you enjoy cultural experiences, history and architecture. There are jaw dropping landscapes if you enjoy painting or photography. Matera has recently been awarded European City for Culture 2019.

    We enjoy hosting volunteers and we've made some lovely friends through this site. We see it as a win/win on both sides. You help us with our projects which would take too long to complete on our own and we host you in luxury accommodation, learning about landscaping and helping us keep on top of the maintenance of the gardens. We welcome you as part of the family - where you will work hard but also have fun and laughter. Your afternoons and evenings will be your free time to do as you wish. You will be well fed as we enjoy fantastic, home grown and prepared food. Our cooking style is modern, but using traditional home grown ingredients. Rick is a great chef and loves to prepare healthy meals. Vegans need not apply as he does cook with cheese, eggs, butter, milk! Vegetarians are welcome. We only host COUPLES over the age of 25. We are both non smokers and do not welcome smokers - sorry!

  • Tipo de ayuda.

    Tipo de ayuda.

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento Bricolage
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda con un proyecto ecologico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con idiomas

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have several acres of land and we are always in need of help with the upkeep of the grounds, gardens, veggie plots and new landscaping around the property. Volunteers should be a COUPLE who are good hands on people who can help with general gardening - particularly extensive weeding and pruning. The vegetable plot and fruit orchard requires continuous attention, including extending, preparing and planting out as well as general maintenance. In Autumn we pick the olives and plant new trees.

    We have some eco-projects underway as well so you may be able to help out with these. If you have a trade such as being an electrician, tiler or carpenter we will try and find you projects so that you can utilise your skills.

    There is always painting and oiling of outside furniture and barns which has to be done every year. The tasks we do depends on the time of year and growing season.

    We have availability for volunteers every March/April/May/June and the end of October/November/December. We generally host volunteers for one week at a time as this works well with our lifestyle. Please do check with us what dates are available as we fill up very quickly and can only host one couple at a time.

    HOW TO GET OUR ATTENTION: We get a LOT of requests so thought we would share our side... We generally always say no to cut and paste requests like, "I need a place to stay to improve my English". We like just a few lines about why you would like to share our home having read our profile, what skills you have, what you'd like to learn. Writing about these things in your covering letter shows you've read our profile to here! And please have a photo of just you/both of you, not a group of people at a party.....). We do not host single travellers.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English, German, basic Italian

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will living in the main house with us, with your own bedroom, bathroom and outside sitting area. Within the bedroom there is one king sized bed, wardrobes, bedside drawers, easy chair and private en-suite shower room with toilet, sink and rain shower. The bedroom has its own french doors leading out to a back terrace and seating area. This area is totally private so that in your free time you can enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside. The views from this terrace are stunning. If you are interested in painting, photography or wild life the landscapes are breath taking and provide perfect back drops for your creativity.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We regularly go into Matera and are happy to take workawayers into town during the afternoons/evenings so that you may explore in your own time. Lots of churches, museums and guided tours if you are interested. Please note - the local town is not accessible on public transport and is too far to walk.

    For arrival arrangements - the closest airport is BARI. The closest bus or train terminal is MATERA. We will gladly pick you up from either the bus or train station in Matera.

    In exchange for free accommodation, breakfast and a main meal which will be served at lunchtime in keeping with the local way of life, we require 5 hours work, 6 days a week (usually 7am to 12 noon so as to avoid the afternoon heat, but this can be flexible). The afternoons and evenings are your free time to explore the local area or simply to relax with a book or admiring the stunning views and wild life we have. On your last day we ask you to thoroughly clean your room.

    Ideal applicants would be 25-60 age bracket (active and fit) with a friendly, mature outlook on life who are seeking to find out and discover this fascinating part of southern Italy.

    This assignment is not suitable for someone looking for a hectic night life! We are in an isolated location but only a 15 min drive into the city. It will appeal to anyone who likes painting; art; culture; architecture; food; gardening and tranquility. The scenery around the house is stunning so if you are a painter or like meditation this is the place for you. Hopefully the pictures on the profile give you some idea of the rural location but we would be happy to supply more photos if you wish. A great location to learn about the real Italy!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Aceso a internet

    • Aceso a internet limitado

      Aceso a internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puede usted acudir?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puede usted acudir?

    Dos

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll learn how we have moved from the race rat in the UK to an almost self sufficient life in the depths of Italy in a modern property built in the traditional way. We try and build as many Eco friendly resources as possible ..... Collecting and harvesting our own rain water; using solar energy for hot water and growing most of our own vegetables. We'll teach you as much as you wish to know and you'll be involved in learning as we learn.

    You'll have the opportunity to visit and explore the second oldest continuously inhabited settlement in the world, where people have lived in caves for over 9000 years (and still do!). A rare opportunity not to be missed.

    Having both been professional employers and recruiters we are happy to discuss and give careers advice and guidance.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5/6 hours per day, 5 days a week

Photos


My Photo Album


Workawayers Sara and Braden picking our olives
Workawayers Hannah and Simon enjoying shifting several tonnes of gravel
Celebrating a completed patio with great workawayers, Sara and Braden
A typical local supper
One of our amazing views
The children!
Cave dwellings in the city of Matera
Ancient city of Matera .... 15 mins drive from us
View from your private terrace
Fruit orchard and vegetable plots
Fruit orchard
Vegetable plots
ploughing the orchard
Local farmer ploughing our land
Us!
View from the annex
One of the many flower beds
Entrance to the annex

Comentarios escritos sobre este anfitrión





























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 696956669825