Visit Northern England and help out at home, UK

updated
Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 127 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    52.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello. I have a lovely 3 bedroom house in Sheffield. It's bright and airy, and around 25 mins walking distance to central. There's also a tram stop exactly one min away if you prefer. Theres lots of grass and a park just next door. Perfect for someone who wants to enjoy a relaxing environment but still be around civilization.
    I'm looking for one person (or two friends/a couple if you don't mind sharing) to come stay for a while. You will have a large double bedroom for yourself, but share the bathroom with me. You're welcome to use the fully equipped kitchen, and I'm happy to provide the kind of food you prefer.

    I'm pretty flexible and just like having people around, but in return for staying at mine, I'd expect you to help me around 4- 5 hours a day.
    My house is newly refurbished, but there are still a few bits and pieces to fix up (specially outside), so if you have handyman knowledge, you'll get preference.

    As for me, I'm Elizabeth. I used to live in London but have recently moved in order to have more peace and space for me and my newborn.

    I spend the majority of my time at home now, but if you would like to join me when I go out and around the city, you're more than welcome.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I've been to over 50 countries myself, both as a traveller and as a resident so I can share a lot of knowledge regarding places if you're still in the middle of planning out an extended trip. I can also advise you if you're thinking about moving somewhere.
    I'm new to Sheffield (I was most recently living in London), but I've heard that the theatre is great here, and if you love the outdoors, the peak district is just nearby.
    I love chatting and meeting new people, but the amount of time I can spend with you depends on how demanding my baby is on that day.

  • Help

    Help

    If youre quite handy, you could help me in replacing the kitchen cabinets and sink.

    Otherwise, it would mostly just be cleaning up around the house and some food preparation for us. You also could do some basic handyman jobs that I've never really gotten to, or tend to my garden that's slowly turning into a jungle.
    I'd likely have you go to the shops or the post office from time to time. I'm also trying to clear our a bunch of things that I don't use, so you could post them for me on eBay too.
    There's nothing urgent but I'll find something different for you to do each day so that it doesn't get boring.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double bed in a large double room, so perfect for friends or couples.
    I'll make sure theres always food in the fridge and you're welcome to help yourself and use the kitchen. Ill also be sending you to the shops from time to time so you can tell me what kind of food you what. It would be great if you could prepare a meal each day for us. I'm not fussy when it comes to food because I don't normally cook.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You'll have lots of space here, easy access to transport and the house is newly refurbished so it's clean and comfy although slightly minimalistic. I'm also very relaxed and friendly so you will have lots of freedom and flexibility to do what you wish - please just don't abuse my kindness.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 694877245191