Come and help for an animal liberation organization and sanctuary in Brandenburg, east Germany

updated
Country

Germany

Favourited 135 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is an animal liberation organization based in Brandenburg, Germany.


    During the last year we were able to save more than 200 sheep from slaughther and to shelter 14 pigs as well as 4 calves. Those animals now live at a former factory farm area and need daily care. We need people who could do those daily tasks.


    Our ideal candidates would be:

    - two people who travel together, because it can feel quite lonely at the farm
    - with a car or at least a driving license, which allows you to come and see us at the small farm, explore the area and get to the train station more easily
    - vegan people tend to understand the project better, it is absolutely neccessary to have empathy and compassion
    towards animals to be able to work with us
    - English or German speakers, because good communication is very important
    - flexible schedule due to the ocassional changes in the animals' needs, which is to be expected in farmlife

    We can provide you with two bicycles and, if necessary, a car.

    If you are travelling on your own, don't have a car or aren't completly vegan yet, but are really motivated and willing to help us, it could also work.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would be in the middle of the former East Germany (DDR), in a rural area.

    You can also experience a cultural exchange with the sheep, pigs and calves, they enjoy company and they are very good company.

  • Help

    Help

    We have 14 pigs who need to be fed twice a day and their stable has to be kept clean (cleaning required about twice a week).

    The work for the sheep can change according to what needs to be done, at the moment it consists of: feeding the sheep in the stable once a day, giving them water and moving the mobile fences for the sheep who are already outside.

    The calves need to be fed three times a day and need special care and a lot of closeness and attention.

    A very important part of this work is also to observe the animals carefully, to be able to notice as soon as possible if one of them is getting sick or is injured.

    We will explain everything in detail and you will have a checklist of the different tasks which will help you. There will be other people coming and going and always someone at the end of the telephone if you are unsure about anything.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    This is something we are working on, at the moment there is one furnished room available in the farm's office building with access to WIFI, toilets/shower and kitchen. It is not modern and there is no one else living in the building, but it is clean and calm.

    We can also provide bikes.

    You would be welcome to come anytime to our smaller farm where we live (about 20 mins drive from the sheep farm), we can eat together here and you could sometimes meet other workawayer(s).

    We will provide vegan food, if you have a car, you could also go shopping yourself and we would pay for it (in case you are not fully vegan yet, you have to know that we only pay for vegan food).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many beautiful lakes and forest around here (Märkische Schweiz Natur Park), it is very nice for swimming and biking.
    It is quite close to Berlin, you would be able to get there by train within an hour. It is also close to the Polish border (about 40 mins by train).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 682244986634