Caribbean Beach Experience in exchange for help with social media & photography skills in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    19/09/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    NEW Update- If you are a COUPLE TRAVELING read this. For the month of August I would love to have a couple with one person having carpentry skills and the other having some social media skills (and perhaps photography skills.)

    The most difficult carpentry work I need would be building a bench/bed.

    Experience what it's like to live as an ex-pat here in Puerto Viejo. My family owns a one acre farm in the lush tropical rain forest only half a mile from the gorgeous Caribbean Ocean. We live in the funky little community of Puerto Viejo which is an eclectic mix of Costa Ricans, Jamaicans and ex pats from all over the world. My husband and I retired early, bought this land, built 2 homes, planted hundreds of trees, set up rain catchment system and have settled ourselves deeply into the community.

    The beaches here are stunningly raw, you can explore cove after cove sometimes being the only person around. Most people get around on bikes and you can get to shopping, yoga, surfing, and dozens of restaurants easily. There are plenty of extracurricular activities to get involved in, opportunities to explore breath work, Tai Chi, Cocoa Ceremonies, and much more. It truly is a lovely community where making friends and getting plugged in is easy.

    I will provide a bike for you to use your entire stay.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    My husband and I are in the process of reinventing careers with on line businesses and need some help with social media, basic video editing and some website work. We both have websites already up and running.

    Our two sons have followed us here (currently one lives with us, one lives off site) and are working to create on line businesses as well. We are need of a patient, creative, technology savvy person to help us utilize social media to the max and help create at least one Youtube Channel.

    We also need some dog walking/care from time to time.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn what it's like to live in a eclectic town with people from all over the world. We truly get a long, enjoy each other and work together. It's a special place.
    There are opportunities to get involved with the indigenous Bri Bri Indians, learn Spanish and learn about the amazing process of growing cocoa and making it into Chocolate.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own totally enclosed bedroom and bathroom in a brand new Cabina that we just built on our property. The Cabina has an out door kitchen and sitting area and it has a land line Internet (which is pretty special in these parts). It's crisp and clean and quite private.
    As far as food goes, we will provide all family meals and plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables. Except for designated family meals the traveler will be free to prepare food of their choice at their leisure.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would have some family meals together (2-3 per week) but we do enjoy dinners with friends and there's a good bit of activities going on around town for someone to get involved in.Transportation here is usually bike, however we do have a car. There is an excellent bus system, people hitch hike safely and of course one can always walk.
    Again, there is so much to get involved in!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album



Host ref number: 662625933766